KC Burn’s Egyptian Adventure


I love traveling, I’m fairly obsessed about quite a few places. If I am ever able to get to Ireland then I might just spontaneously combust. It’s so refreshing to hear that other people have similar feelings about seeing all of this planet.

Here is KC Burn to talk about her life-long passion for Egypt and how great it was to actually discover it in person.

Why the Hieroglyphics?

If anyone’s noticed my avatar, you might wonder why I’m using a photo of hieroglyphics, especially since none of my books are about Egypt (although, yes, I do have an archaeologist). Besides getting published, visiting Egypt was the top of my list of things to do in my life. I adore anything to do with ancient Egypt. I even have a tattoo of hieroglyphics – no, it’s not a combination probably ever used for real, and I badly misappropriated the royal cartouche, but hey, it’s my tattoo, right? I still love it. There’s something magical, compelling and fascinating about hieroglyphics and the ruins and the tombs and mummies….

I took a few archaeology courses in university, but I had a much greater aptitude for osteology, paleopathology and forensic anthropology than for archaeology… not that bones aren’t fun, too 😉

Despite the academic failure, visiting Egypt was a HUGE deal for me. That trip completed something inside me, and I still think about what a great trip it was. Cairo, the pyramids, Luxor, the Valley of the Kings, Kom Ombo, Abu Simbel, cruising on the Nile – all incredible. The Sphinx was less impressive than I expected. You know those pictures with it in front of the pyramids? Total trick of perspective. The pyramids are MILES away from the Sphinx.

I have an alabaster scarab I bought in Cairo that I love to hold when I’ve got writer’s block (and apparently, it’s time for a little scarab therapy). The photo I use for my avatar was on the back of a statue, protected in a narrow alcove (I was skinnier then, and could squeeze in small places), and looked as though it had been carved the day before. It was like finding a secret, and I took that picture. It’s one of my favourites, and that’s why I use it as my avatar. And if I come across as obsessed, well, as long as I don’t try to mummify anyone, it’s pretty harmless, right?

~~KC Burn

WEBSITE
FACEBOOK
TWITTER
GOODREADS






Releasing today, Craving (MIA Case Files #3)
On a mission tracking down werewolves, a mishap disables Agent Brandon Ellison, rendering him unfit for field duty. Unable to deal with the repercussions of the accident, Brandon moves away and Oliver Cardoso not only loses his partner, but his lover. Years later, when Brandon returns as head of MIA’s Research and Development team, the hurt, guilt and blame fester into jealousy and professional rivalry, making working together almost impossible.

When an equipment failure almost kills Oliver, it appears as though Brandon’s executing some sort of revenge. Determined to find out the truth, Brandon invites himself along on his first mission in years, with Oliver and his new partner. With an elusive portal and the Umbrae creating a previously unknown creature, hundreds of lives, including Oliver’s, are at stake. Although their attraction hasn’t waned in the intervening years, putting aside their differences creates a potentially fatal distraction and falling in love again might destroy them both.

Available from Loose-ID – http://www.loose-id.com/mia-case-files-craving.html

KC has added a print book to our GRL Reading Challenge Grand Prize. Remember to post your list for your chance to enter.

2 thoughts on “KC Burn’s Egyptian Adventure

  1. veronicascott October 9, 2012 / 4:09 pm

    Fun post! The goddess standing next to your hieroglyphics is Sheshat, “She Who Is Foremost in the Library” (among her many other titles) so that’s a fun omen for you too! Best wishes!

    • KC Burn October 9, 2012 / 6:27 pm

      Hi Veronica – that is so cool… both that you just know that, and for the omen! Thanks for letting me know.

Leave a Reply

