Fence with EM Lynley


I really love it when authors take something uncommon and wrap a whole world around it. I love football stories, but there are a ton of them. Archery, water polo, and of course, fencing. That’s so cool!

Here is EM Lynley to talk about her latest novel and her addiction to the Olympics.

I Had a Dream… About Fencing

My new novel, Hostile Takeover releases today from Dreamspinner Press. The two main characters are fencers when they meet. I’d like to share the story of how I got the idea to write this book.

Maybe it was reading and watching Three Musketeers movies too many times, or that Madonna video from Die Another Day, but something wedged itself into my subconscious and refused to go away. I’m almost never remember my dreams, so if I wake up with a vivid image or scene in my brain, I consider it miraculous. And so it was the morning I woke up with the memory of a fencing match I had dreamed about.

The details were fuzzy around the edges: just these two hot guys fencing, dueling, for something very important. I had no clue what it was, but it inspired me, a lot. I spent the day thinking about it. I never remembered any more of that dream, but I came up with a variety of things they could be dueling over: another man in a love triangle, a debt, or maybe one man had to defend himself against the other—only his opponent had once been his lover?

I was on to something. I thought and plotted and scribbled notes. Within a couple of days I had a whole plot woven around just one scene. I had a full explanation for how they’d gotten there and what happened next. I was thrilled! I started writing. I had so much inspiration and I couldn’t wait to get to the big fencing scene so the words flowed onto the paper. The result was my latest release, novel Hostile Takeover. While it may have started out with the flimsiest idea of plot or character—just that fleeting scene of a fencing match, over many drafts it became a layered and complex story spanning twelve years of lives of Mathias Tobler and Chase Richards, two men who fell in love while training for the US Olympic Fencing Team and who had a three-year romance that ended in a painful and humiliating break-up.

Then, more than ten years later, Chase Richards tries to win Mathias back, just when Mathias thinks he’s moved on and is ready to spend the rest of his life with someone else. Once so close, now they’re polar opposites, in life, love and in business. Now they’re in conflict in every sense of the word, and their business rivalry is about to be decided on the fencing piste. One last match—a duel—to decide the matter once and for all.

Or will it?

This book was fun to write. I did a lot of research on fencing and the Olympics (many readers know I’m an Olympic junkie and just edited an Olympic anthology!) and I visited some of the locations, including Mathias’s hometown in Texas and Duke University. I also watched a lot of fencing matches and even got to use some of my financial analyst training.

I hope you’ll check out Hostile Takeover, and see just how much inspiration one scene can provide!

Hostile Takeover, from Dreamspinner Press. (Available at Amazon and All Romance eBooks from Sep 29).

Read an extended excerpt

Visit EM Lynley online at http://www.emlynley.com and on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/emlynley

EM if offering up a T-shirt with the cover of Hostile Takeover. To enter, comment below about some of your favorite or memorable Olympic moments.

Open until Saturday, September 29th at 11:59 pm (PST). Winner will be chosen and notified on Sunday.


10 thoughts on “Fence with EM Lynley

  1. Suze September 28, 2012 / 12:51 pm

    Oh, nice excerpt! Nice to see different sports portrayed

    • emlynley September 29, 2012 / 10:14 pm

      Hi Suze,
      I’m glad you liked the excerpt. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  2. Susan Laine September 28, 2012 / 2:40 pm

    Though I wasn’t around back then on account of not being born yet, my favorite Olympic experience is one I have watched many times on Youtube. It’s the 1972 Summer Olympics of Munich when “the Flying Finn”, Lassi Virén, won gold in the 10,000 meter long-distance running event. He tripped on some other guy (who never got up, BTW), but Virén did get up and he won! Very inspirational, and Finns to this day talk about it on occasion 🙂

    Great cover, great excerpt, intriguing story. Can’t wait to read it — and win the T-shirt! 😀

    • emlynley September 29, 2012 / 10:15 pm

      What’s your favorite sport at the Olympics now?

  3. Barbra September 28, 2012 / 9:12 pm

    I like the sound of this one. I’m assuming (hoping) it ends happily for everyone??
    Yeah, I’m sure it does. I’ll need to check this out on Amazon tomorrow. 🙂

    • emlynley September 29, 2012 / 10:16 pm

      Thanks, Barbra. I always write happy endings. You can be sure of that. I even heard a couple of people say they cried at the end of this one.

  4. Eva P. September 29, 2012 / 11:05 pm

    Sounds like a great story to read. I also love watching the Olympics too, though they don’t televise fencing as much, so I’ve only watched snippets of the matches. Lucky you, getting to do all this research on a sport that sounds like you really enjoy 🙂

    • emlynley September 30, 2012 / 10:01 am

      Hi Eva, thanks for stopping by. I don’t think they aired much fencing in the US. This summer I had to watch the BBC website to catch all the sports, since we don’t have cable and stupid NBC didn’t have any free web broadcasts. But Olympic fencing is actually not quite as exciting as movie swordfights. There are a lot of rules. But the research was fun and I learned a lot.

  5. mantasticfiction September 30, 2012 / 11:36 am

    Congratulations Susan Laine! You won the Hostile Takeover t-shirt. I will contact you directly about claiming your prize.

    • Susan Laine September 30, 2012 / 3:00 pm

      Wow. Thank you! Awesome contest, and great giveaway. Absolutely wonderful to win this T-shirt 🙂 My sincere thanks to MANtastic Fiction and to E.M. Lynley.

Leave a Reply

