Tara Lain has been Busy!


Last year, GRL was a fabulous experiment. Who knew what would happen or what to expect. But … oh, what a success it was! Here is Tara Lain to talk about what she’s been up to, as well as some of the things she has put together for GRL this year.

Here Kitty, Kitty. Getting Ready for GRL!

I’m really excited about GayRomLit next month. I’m a veteran. Last year in New Orleans I had four published books under my belt. This year I’m working on 14. It’s been a busy year and getting ready for GRL is a very busy time. Here are some of the things on the agenda.

I won’t have a brand new book out for GRL. (My most recent book, Genetic Celebrity, is a MMF ménage so not the best choice for GRL) but I will have a new gay romance coming out Oct 30th so it gets featured at the retreat. The new book is called Brush with Catastrophe. It’s the sequel to the very popular Spell Cat, the paranormal gay romance about witches and one great black cat named Aloysius. Here’s a little blurb about Brush with Catastrophe:

Sammy Raphael is a crappy witch. And on top of that, he can’t get a boyfriend. Where other supernaturals can bring down lightning and manifest wealth, Sammy can paint. True, the “prophetic” paintings he does at night always come true, but they never predict anything important. Until he paints a gorgeous guy and it turns out to be his secret crush, Ryder. But Ryder has changed so much he’s almost unrecognizably beautiful. And then Sammy paints an angel who turns out to be a witch. But is that witch also a devil? And why the hells does Ryder keep changing? Aloysius, the black cat familiar, always backs the winner. So why is he backing Sammy?

To commemorate Brush with Catastrophe, I’ve had some drawstring backpacks made with the cat logo you see above. But, I won’t have enough for everyone at the retreat, soooo I’m making it into a game. I’m going to give some of my book cover postcards to five authors at the retreat. Anyone who can find two of the authors and get two of the five postcards, bring them to me and get me to sign them, will get a Brush with Catastrophe backpack (for as long as they last, but I have lots!). This should be a fun way to meet some authors and get a useful souvenir at the same time. Last year, people used my Golden Dancer backpacks to take books home. I’m planning on reading something from Brush with Catastrophe during my reading too.

I’m also excited because this year I’ll have print books with me for GRL. I’ll have copies of Sinders and Ash, my gay fairy tale romance, and my new single author anthology, Balls to the Wall, which includes Volley Balls, Fire Balls, and Beach Balls. There’s a chance I may have some copies of Golden Dancer as well.

For everyone, I’ll have some Spell Cat post-it notes in the swag room, and there will be other goodies for chatters. I’m so looking forward to the Rainbow Romance Writers event (don’t miss it!), and Pimp Your Badge with a bunch of great Authors (don’t miss that either), the Loose Id breakfast, the publishers’ spotlights and –well, everything!

Tara Lain: WEBSITE | BLOG | FACEBOOK | GOODREADS
Whether you get to go this year or just hear reports, what are you most looking forward to at GRL?

Leave me a comment with your email please and you can win a copy of any book in the Balls to the Wall Series in the ebook format of your choice — that’s Volley Balls, Fire Balls or Beach Balls. And in the Mantastic grand prize, you’ll find a copy of the new Balls to the Wall Anthology in print to be collected at GRL! Thank you so much for coming by! — Tara : )

Open until Thursday, September 20th at 11:59 pm (PST). Winner will be chosen and notified on Friday.

28 thoughts on “Tara Lain has been Busy!

  1. Jbst September 18, 2012 / 2:43 pm

    Your drawstring backpacks for GRL are so adorable! Too bad I won’t be at GRL.

    I have “Spell Cat” and “Sinders and Ash” on my Kindle, but I haven’t read them yet. My TBR pile is so large, especially with my tendency to keep buying new books. I’ll have to get started on “Spell Cat”, so I’m excited to read about the sequel. Thanks for the giveaway!

  2. Diane A September 18, 2012 / 2:49 pm

    I’m just looking forward to GRL in general!!!
    I missed it last year and it sounded like a lot of fun! But getting to meet the authors and other readers will be great, I only have one person locally I share this interest with. I’m even looking forward to meeting the independent publishers!!!

    I have all Tara’s ebooks, the print of Sinders & Ash, Golden Dancer has been shipped and I just have to order Balls to the Wall so I won’t enter the contest, but wanted to comment just the same!

  3. Trix September 18, 2012 / 4:29 pm

    Sigh, I wish I could go to GRL! I’m excited at all the potential collaborations that might happen because of GRL..it would be fun to see various authors get acquainted and come up with all kinds of fun stuff because of it. Have a wonderful time!

    vitajex(at)aol(dot)com

  4. Tara Lain September 18, 2012 / 5:04 pm

    Yayyyyy! Diane. So looking forward to meeting you. Jbst and Trix, i so wish you were coming too. But i’ll save a few bags for the Brush with Catastrophe blog tour. : )

  5. mimirose41209 September 18, 2012 / 5:33 pm

    I’m so excited for you going to the conference with so many books under your belt. I love your writing and wish you continued success.

    mimirose41209 at hotmail dot com

    • Tara Lain September 18, 2012 / 5:45 pm

      Thank you so much, Mimirose. I’m so excited too. : )

  6. yganoe September 18, 2012 / 6:00 pm

    I wish I could be there but sadly can not….I love your work!
    Yvette
    yratpatrol@aol.com

  7. Moria McCain September 18, 2012 / 6:03 pm

    This sounds wonderful and I wish I could go this year. Oh well, maybe next year. But do put me in the contest! moriamccain at gmail(dot)com

  8. Giselle September 18, 2012 / 6:47 pm

    Please include me in the contest. Thanks!

    • Tara Lain September 18, 2012 / 8:33 pm

      Hi you guys. Thank you for coming by. you’re entered. : )

  9. Michelle (MiMi) September 18, 2012 / 11:29 pm

    Hope you have fun @ GRL…what a difference a year makes eh? chellebee66(at)gmail(dot)com

  10. Nae September 19, 2012 / 1:42 am

    Hi, can you please count me in the giveaway. Thanks
    Hope you have fun at GRL 🙂
    renee-moore@live.com.au

  11. Tara Lain September 19, 2012 / 8:30 am

    Hi Michelle, hi Nae– Thank you so much. You’re entered. : )

  12. Chris Bails (@chrisbails1015) September 19, 2012 / 9:14 am

    i wish I could go. I would love to meet you Tara. Maybe next year. I love your books, but still have not read Volleyballs. Thanks for the giveaway.
    christinebails at yahoo dot com

    • Tara Lain September 19, 2012 / 9:50 am

      Hi Chris– Wish you could go too darn it. We’ll find out where the next GRL is on the Sunday of this one. : )

  13. Suze September 19, 2012 / 9:15 am

    I’m unlikely to get to any GRL, as I cant even get to England for the UK meet! I do like reading about all the fun thats happened on the blog posts after though!

  14. Tara Lain September 19, 2012 / 9:51 am

    Hi Suze– I’ll post lots from GRL to keep everyone up to date. : )

  15. Patti P September 19, 2012 / 10:11 am

    I would love to go but I can’t. I will have to just look forward to the updates. 😦
    I love the blurbs for this series. Oh my goodness all those hot men!
    musicalfrog at comcast.net

  16. arella3173 September 19, 2012 / 7:51 pm

    Sadly, I don’t get to go, but I’m looking forward to seeing what new projects of collaborations will be coming in the future. 😀

    thanks for the contest!

    Judi
    arella3173_loveless(at)yahoo(dot)com

  17. tammy ramey (@wyndwhisper) September 19, 2012 / 11:32 pm

    Hi Tara,
    First Congratulations on the new print version of Balls to the Wall, it’s beutiful and i can’t wait to have a copy. 😀 i have never heard of GRL before but i think that i would love all the new books and meeting all of the new authors, and of course my favorites.

    thank you for the chance at such a great giveaway, sorry i’ve been m.i.a., i have been sick and so has the computer. LOL! Congrats again.

    tammy ramey
    trvlagnt1t@yahoo.com

  18. Tara Lain September 20, 2012 / 7:37 am

    Hi Patti ans Arella and Tammy– Great to see all of you. I wish you could all go to GRL!But i will send updates and post on the blogs and on FB. Tammy, so sorry you’ve been sick. Hope you and the computer are better! Remember, we’ll be blog touring for Brush with Catastrophe when i get back from GRL! : )

  19. aquariandancer September 20, 2012 / 7:42 am

    I’m excited to see/meet people that I talk to online. It is nice to put a face to a name. I’m also SUPER excited about the print versions of Tara’s books. I read almost exclusively print, so this will be a treat!

    • Tara Lain September 20, 2012 / 8:00 am

      Hi Karin– I’m so excited that you’ll be at GRL! I’m getting in Tuesday so find me. Yes, i hope to have three print books at the retreat — Balls to the Wall, Sinders and Ash and Golden Dancer. Yahoo! : )

  20. Urb September 20, 2012 / 6:51 pm

    Wow, those backpacks are so cute! Have fun, and thanks!
    brendurbanist AT gmail DOT com

    • Tara Lain September 20, 2012 / 7:21 pm

      Thank you so much, Urb. I haven’t seen them yet but i sure hope so. I’ll save some out for the Brush with Catastrophe blog tour! : )

  21. Juliana September 20, 2012 / 10:42 pm

    Thanks for the post! I won’t be at GRL 😦 but I hope you have fun!

    • Tara Lain September 21, 2012 / 12:11 am

      Thank you, Juliana. Wish you could come! : )

  22. mantasticfiction September 21, 2012 / 11:53 am

    Congratulations Yganoe … you won! I will contact you directly about claiming your prize.

Leave a Reply

