Cleaning House with Viki Lyn


I know when I’m real busy my desk looks like a hurricane went through. I couldn’t have possibly made that mess. There are few things that make me happier than throwing stuff out or crossing things off a list. YAY! To getting things done.

Here is Viki Lyn to talk a about how important and peaceful it is to clear out the clutter.

“Clutter-clearing is modern-day alchemy.” Denise Linn

I’m a believer of working in a creative space. What that space looks like is different for every person. For me, I have to have a clean desk before I start a new book. I can’t work in clutter for very long. So for the past week, I rolled up my sleeves, took out the dust cloth and got to work. Old research files were boxed and stored, art supplies pitched or given to Goodwill, a file cabinet moved in which allowed me to clean up piles of files on my desk. It’s amazing how exhilarating it feels to rid the room of objects no longer needed. I actually feel a clean, pure energy when I enter my office now. And this energy nurtures new ideas and that’s always exciting.

As you can tell, my creative space is important to me. Maybe because I have my moon in Cancer? Home is where I regenerate my spirit. I’m not one to collect a lot of knickknacks but there are special objects I love to have around me—goddess statues, iconic crosses and books are a few of these things. Two large bulletin boards are pinned with pictures of men that represent my characters, snapshots of family and friends and miscellaneous fun stuff. And I have to confess, I have a TV and PlayStation 3 set up for gaming—because that’s how I clear the chattering in my head.

I’m thrilled to have an uncluttered space for the fall season. September is the month for finishing projects. It’s a time of completion. And that’s what I’m doing, completing stories that I’ve started over the summer: Lover’s Trill was released this month with Musa Publishing. I’m in edits for two upcoming books—Sins of Lust, a new paranormal and Perceived Love, a contemporary novella. My co-writer just sent me her finished WIP for book 2. We hope to have the ms ready for edits by the end of the month. When October rolls in, I’ll be ready to start new stories and projects.

I’m curious how you feel about creative spaces, and if you have a special place where you write, create or just be. So leave a comment and one winner will be chosen to receive a free digital book from my backlist.
Happy Reading! Viki

I’ll end this post with a quote from the famous textile designer, artist, writer, William Morris:
“Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful.” William Morris

New Release: Lover’s Trill: Let the musical magic of Vienna weave a second chance at love.

Rocker Leo needs a break. From the band, roadies, everything related to his present life. Wandering the streets of Vienna, he chances upon a poster that just might change his life. Andre Revele, renowned violinist, and Leo’s ex-lover, is performing in the city. It’s been years since Leo slipped out of Andre’s life, but he’s never forgotten their passionate love of music and each other.

Andre is shocked when Leo shows up backstage after his performance. He is angry, but he can’t walk away. Against his better judgment, he invites Leo to his hotel for a drink. Not sure what he wants from Leo, he knows what his body wants. A night of passionate sex leads to another, until he’s lost his heart to Leo again.

When Andre finds his trust in Leo tested, Leo must prove his loyalty by using their one common passion – music – to bind their hearts.

Buy link: http://musapublishing.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=9&products_id=378

Viki Lyn
http://www.vikilyn.com
http://www.vikilyn.com/blog
Twitter and FB: VikiLynRomance

As requested above, let us know how you deal with clutter in your workspace, clutter in your life. Comment below for a chance to win an e-book from Viki’s backlist.

Open until Thursday, September 20th at 11:59 pm (PST). Winner will be selected and notified on Friday.

17 thoughts on “Cleaning House with Viki Lyn

  1. Viki Lyn September 18, 2012 / 12:30 pm

    Thanks for letting me post today! I’ll check periodically and answer any questions or comments, so please share your idea of creative spaces! Viki

  2. Jbst September 18, 2012 / 2:32 pm

    I do keep semi piles of stuff/clutter together in certain areas as best as I can, while other areas are not as organized. Paper seem to accumulate all of the time. My problem is thinking “Oh. This item is useful or I might need it later or I could I decorate something with this thing.” Your post will give me a kick in the pants to do more cleaning up.

  3. Suze September 18, 2012 / 3:07 pm

    I do a regular clear out at home – ebay, charity shop or tip depending on item and quality! I need those ebay sales to support my ebook buying habit! When I was working i did have a tidy-ish workspace but had to be careful i didnt spend too long tidying and not enough time working!

  4. Giselle September 18, 2012 / 4:35 pm

    Spring cleaning in Spring…..Summer,……Fall…… and Winter!

  5. Trix September 18, 2012 / 4:50 pm

    Oh, boy. My whole house looks like a paper mill exploded. My creativity is usually spurred by methods or circumstance as inspiration, rather than a place. I vow to get organized one day, though!

    vitajex(at)aol(dot)com

  6. Viki Lyn September 18, 2012 / 5:07 pm

    I love all your comments. Paper seems to be a key clutter item though. LOL I print everything of interest so I have lot’s of files, some I never look at again! I forget about stuff I already had printed out . Instead of looking to see what I already have, I go to the Internet and search for it again!

  7. yganoe September 18, 2012 / 6:01 pm

    I am a complete neat freak and it drives me crazy when my classroom desk is a mess. I try to be very organized.
    Yvette
    yratpatrol@aol.com

  8. Barbra September 18, 2012 / 6:27 pm

    I don’t like clutter, but it seems to like me. It’s a never-ending battle. 🙂
    Barbra
    aelnova@aol.com

  9. Ann Roberts September 18, 2012 / 8:52 pm

    I used to be more organized before children! Now, I need to do more to purge! My best writing and thinking is actually done around nature, so I love paper and pen or taking my laptop outside! That also gives me an excuse to not clean up before working, as well!

  10. Michelle (MiMi) September 18, 2012 / 11:26 pm

    I ignore clutter….’til it buries me. chellebee66(at)gmail(dot)com

  11. Nae September 19, 2012 / 12:09 am

    I love having a clean work/creative space. I have to have everything in its own spot and I notice if anything has been moved. I go over to my Mum’s place and I start cleaning her kitchen, she loves having me over. 🙂
    renee-moore@live.com.au

  12. Viki Lyn September 19, 2012 / 10:55 am

    Oh, I’m so happy there are some ‘neat freaks’ like me out there! I wonder if it’s my Virgo rising, but I need a clean desk to start a new writing project. I don’t do much ‘deep’ cleaning around my house but it’s always picked up! 🙂 I love how the energy lightens up in a room once it’s decluttered. Another trick I learned is to burn a sage stick to clean-up old energies and stuff. Now I know, I’m getting ‘winkie’! LOL

  13. Beverly C September 19, 2012 / 11:58 am

    I’m a Virgo with OCD. Clutter would probably send me over the edge. I keep things organized for my sanity, besides it looks good.

  14. arella3173 September 19, 2012 / 8:09 pm

    oh gosh… I let things clutter in the worst ways… Until I just can’t stand walking over paper or dropping books, I force myself to clean. but I usually try to stack my stuff in the corner… that way it’s at least cluttered in the corner… lol.. but that hardly works cuz then I just build mountains that collapse. LOL!

    Thanks for the contest! 🙂

    Judi
    arella3173_loveless(at)yahoo(dot)com

  15. Urb September 20, 2012 / 6:45 pm

    Ugh, clutter! I am having the WORST time with it right now, I can, however, tell you one thing that has really helped tremendously: eBooks. Iam an avid reader, and there are piles and shelves and teething stacks of books in every room! But for the past year, I have purchased only ONE print book. Just one. I also get all my magazines and newspapers online. I’m still fighting clutter, but my masses of reading material–and hundreds of books–are safel within my Cloud!

  16. mantasticfiction September 21, 2012 / 11:56 am

    Congratulations Michelle (MiMi) … you won! I will be contacting you directly about claiming your prize.

  17. Viki Lyn September 21, 2012 / 5:28 pm

    I wanted to just say I enjoyed reading all of your comments. Thanks so much for stopping by! And that you MANtastic for hosting me this week. Viki

Leave a Reply

