Poppy Dennison is Positive


I absolutely loved Poppy Dennison’s debut novel, Mind Magic. Shifters are a favorite theme of mine, and she was able to bring something new to the table. Here she is to talk about her follow up, Body Magic, and how important it is to stay positive.

An Omega State of Mind
By Poppy Dennison

I have this theory about living a positive life. It goes something like this: if you put positive energy out into the world, you’ll get positive energy back. Pretty simple, huh? Several friends have been on the receiving end of one of my rants pep talks regarding this very subject. Sometimes I even paraphrase Forrest Gump during these talks: “Positive is as Positive Does”.

Silly and simplistic? Perhaps. But I choose to live my life embracing the positive. Sure, negative happens but if we dwell on it, it’s easy to get buried under. It’s one of those self-fulfilling prophesy things.

This is exactly the situation that faces Rocky Harris, a character in my new novel “Body Magic”. See, Rocky is an omega werewolf. Most of us have read enough paranormal novels to know what being an omega usually entails—these wolves are weaker, usually wimpy, and need an oh-so-strong alpha to swoop them up and save the day.

But is that what they really need? Rocky is weaker as a wolf than some of his other counterparts and he’s tried his best to make himself stronger as a man as a result. He’s ashamed of who he is, and that shame allows him to be manipulated.

So what happens when an omega with a confidence problem meets up with a muscle bound hunk who has confidence issues of his own? Well, sparks fly for starters, even though neither Rocky or Cade, his love interest, is very happy about that. They’re forced to work together to protect the pack—and they begin to see that their strengths and weaknesses balance each other out.

Kermit the Frog says that “It’s not easy being green.” I suppose Rocky would agree that it’s not easy being an omega. I’d say that it’s not easy being chubby and having freckles. But Kermit is more than a frog, I’m more than my freckles, and Rocky, well, he’s definitely a lot more than a simple omega. After all, isn’t omega just a state of mind?

Excerpt:
Cade nodded and used his leg to hit the bag. After the third rep, he lost his balance and had to step back. “See?”

“Yeah. You aren’t setting up correctly. Here, let me show you.” Rocky came around behind Cade and reached out for his waist. Skin met skin. They were both still naked after their shift.

“Uh, let me put my shorts on first.”

Cade shrugged. “Sure.”

“I’ll grab you some too.” Cade’s jeans lay in a tangled heap by the door where he’d shifted. Skintight denim didn’t suit a workout of knee jabs.

“Okay.”

Nudity didn’t bother most shifters. Part of being a shifter meant you got naked in front of other people. At least their clothes didn’t rip to shreds like in the horror movies. Must be the magic. They just sort of fell away.

Rocky had always been self-conscious of his smaller size and didn’t care to wander around naked, even though he wasn’t the same scrawny boy he had been. The barrier of clothes made him feel safer. He ignored his discarded clothes on the floor and left Cade in the living room. Once in his bedroom, he took a deep, calming breath before he slipped on a pair of loose gray sweatpants and grabbed a pair of green shorts for Cade.

He went back to the other room and tossed the shorts to Cade. “Those should work. They’re a bit big on me.”

Cade stepped into the shorts and pulled them up. They were snug and didn’t leave much to the imagination, but Rocky was more comfortable with them both covered.

“Thanks.” Cade’s stance relaxed, and he stared at Rocky for a long moment. “Look, it’s no secret I’m not happy we had to bring in an outsider for security.”

“I know,” Rocky said and turned to the bag. “You’ve made it very clear.”

“But I will admit we’re in over our heads with all this and could use the upgrades.”

An understatement if Rocky had ever heard one. When you lay down with dogs, you ended up with fleas. Being this close to a mage had Rocky itching already. He had to play along with Cade to keep the peace and get his job done, though. “Agreed.”

Blurb:
A pack is only as strong as its weakest member. Rocky Harris knows how the system works. He’s been on the bottom rung his whole life. But when his alpha consigns him to the High Moon Pack to help them improve security, he finds his beliefs not just challenged but outright assaulted.

Cade Montgomery’s confidence took a hit when the pack’s cubs were kidnapped on his watch. He’s prepared to do anything to protect his family, even if it means working with Rocky. Maybe Cade doesn’t trust Rocky, but with the turmoil surrounding pack Alpha Gray’s unpopular decision to break tradition and mate with a mage named Simon, Cade knows more threats are coming.

Then someone declares war on shifters and puts the entire pack in danger. Cade and Rocky will need each other’s strengths to survive the impending battle—and the power of their growing attraction.

Buy Link: Dreamspinner Press

Bio:
A sassy southern lady, Poppy Dennison developed an obsession with things that go bump in the night in her early years after a barn door flew off its hinges and nearly squashed her. Convinced it was a ghost trying to get her attention, she started looking for other strange and mysterious happenings around her. Not satisfied with what she found, Poppy has traveled to Greece, Malaysia and England to find inspiration for the burly bears and silver foxes that melt her butter. Her love of paranormal continues to flourish nearly thirty years later, and she writes steamy love stories about the very things that used to keep her up all night. If her childhood ghost is lucky, maybe one day she’ll give him his own happily ever after.

Visit her on her web site: http://www.poppydennison.com/,
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/poppydennison,
Twitter: http://twitter.com/PoppyDennison
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5108648.Poppy_Dennison

Poppy is offering up a digital copy of Body Magic. To enter, comment below about where you would end up in a pack structure, from Alpha to Omega.

Open until Thursday, September 13th at 11:59 pm (PST). winner will be selected and notified on Friday.

21 thoughts on “Poppy Dennison is Positive

  1. Tina September 11, 2012 / 11:45 am

    I’m pretty sure I would end up right in the middle. I am a follower by nature, but won’t abide getting stomped on!

  2. Juliana September 11, 2012 / 12:08 pm

    I think I would be at the bottom of the pack. I highly doubt I am an Omega by nature and have no drive to lead as Alpha. But I know I am quite confrontational at the wrong times. I could see myself getting mad at the wrong shifter and starting a big challenge… and loosing! I may be a fighter but not a good one. Sure I may fight the bigger badder wolf when angry but will definitely not have the skills to win. I see many failed fights and loses of position in my shifter future!
    Congrats on the new release! And thanks for the contest! I hope you will have a better place in the pack…

  3. Connie September 11, 2012 / 12:11 pm

    I´ve a strong personality so I will probably fight for that Alpha place. Unless the Alpha in place is HOT and then unfortunately my Sub nature will kick in, I will bow my head and follow.

  4. Bill Gay September 11, 2012 / 12:44 pm

    Hmmm – I’d have to be the Alpha’s “right hand man” – not totally in charge, but, able to help make the right decisions. Now, about me bowing MY head, hmmmm. NOT the proper page for additional comments!!!!!! XOXO!! HA!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Bobbejean September 11, 2012 / 1:23 pm

    I think I’d make a fine Beta. I’ve never wanted to be the top dog but I am the absolute best second!!

    Bobbejean
    bobbejean@msn.com

  6. Jbst September 11, 2012 / 2:15 pm

    If it’s physical size, it would be an Omega since I’m rather petite and small boned. Otherwise, the middle somewhere.

    strive4bst(At) yahoo(Dot) com

  7. Barbra September 11, 2012 / 6:40 pm

    Theres no way I’d ever be an alpha! I’d rather “blend”, so I’d be in the middle somewhere. 🙂
    Barbra aelnova@aol.com

  8. Trix September 11, 2012 / 7:15 pm

    Not sure…I don’t like following, but I also don’t want to be seen as pushy. So, where would a passive-aggressive shifter fit in?

    vitajex(at)aol(dot)com

  9. yganoe September 11, 2012 / 7:20 pm

    I am pretty straight forward and so not a follower…definitely Alpha.
    Yvette
    yratpatrol@aol.com

  10. Tawny September 11, 2012 / 8:21 pm

    I’d be a Beta. I don’t necessarily want to lead, but if it needs to get done, I can do it, plus direct others and make sure they are doing their part too.

  11. Carey September 11, 2012 / 9:07 pm

    I would have to say in the middle somewhere too, which isnt a bad place to be 🙂

  12. Rush September 11, 2012 / 9:07 pm

    I am definitely an Alpha. Back in the 80’s when I was a military wife my sister would always say I’d make a perfect TI. LOL

  13. arella3173 September 11, 2012 / 10:26 pm

    I’d be an Omega.
    I’m short and not all that strong physically, so i’d probably get picked on as Omega’s usually do. 😉 I’d need a big strong Alpha to take care and protect me.
    xD lol!!

    Thanks so much for the contest! please, please count me in!! oooh~~ I so badly want this book. >o< I hope I can get it soon.

    Judi
    arella3173_loveless(at)yahoo(dot)com

  14. Michelle (MiMi) September 11, 2012 / 11:16 pm

    I think I would be the Beta/Enforcer …just enough of a balance between power and a life.
    Hoping to win this before I buy it 🙂 chellebee66 at gmail dot com

  15. Renee September 12, 2012 / 12:38 am

    I think I would be a beta. I don’t want to lead, I would much rather follow and blend, but I love organising everything and everyone 😉
    Thanks for the giveaway
    renee-moore@live.com.au

  16. Penumbra September 12, 2012 / 2:10 am

    I think I’d be a Beta. Alphas have too much responsibility and I’m not an Omega by any means.

    penumbrareads(at)gmail(dot)com

  17. Giselle September 12, 2012 / 8:36 am

    Probably an Alpha, I hate having someone tell me what to do. I always know best!!!

  18. Val L Hughes September 12, 2012 / 8:51 am

    Poppy has become my favourite paranormal author, regardless of whether it’s a mainstream book or gay. Her short stories are awesome too. I can see this young lady going far, on a path built of all her books. Oh, and I’d be an Alpha, I don’t take well to being told what to do, ever!

  19. chickie434 September 13, 2012 / 12:26 am

    Well, I think I’d be a Beta. That or Alpha Mate. I’m not a very submissive person, but I wouldn’t want to be Alpha. Too much work 😛

    tiger-chick-1(at)hotmail(dot)com

  20. Poppy Dennison September 13, 2012 / 12:07 pm

    You guys have some great answers. I think I’m with several of you guys…I’d either be a beta or an alpha-mate than the alpha. 🙂

  21. mantasticfiction September 14, 2012 / 1:22 pm

    Congratulations Rush … you won a digital copy of Body Magic by Poppy Dennison. I will be contacting you directly about claiming your prize.

Leave a Reply

