A Kiki With Heidi Cullinan


There is no telling what could get an entire movement going. One comment could spark a revolution, and one picture could inspire a new generation. Or one song could give people a break, even if it’s only a few minutes.

Here is Heidi Cullinan to talk about how one random song she didn’t even like is helping her spread a little comfort, peace and goofy joy.

A Kiki With Heidi Cullinan

I’ve been a fan of the Scissor Sisters since I heard my husband playing them in his bathroom as he got ready for work way back when the only album we knew about was the self-titled album. I think my favorite thing about that band is how every time they have a new album it’s a whole new style and yet they’re always distinctly themselves. This latest album, however, has totally taken the cake.

At first I didn’t like Magic Hour very much. Then I liked it pretty well but only if it was interspersed with other songs. And then there was the kiki.

“Let’s Have a Kiki” is a very, very weird song, and my daughter cannot stand it. I admit, the first time I heard it, I thought, what the hell? Then I listened again, and again.

Somehow at some point kiki became part of daily vernacular. A friend of mine texted me and said, “We need to have a kiki.” I started calling another friend every day to help him through a rough patch and we started calling it kiki. We’re still calling every day, and not only do we call it kiki-time, but I have a ringtone set as the alarm to call him which plays the song.

A kiki is a party, they say, for calming all your nerves. I’ve found there’s always a good reason to have a kiki. Kiki because you’re happy. Kiki because you’re sad. Overwhelmed. Because that bitch at work took the last donut or that guy cut you off at Starbucks. Anything goes, really. Around here we shout out random quotes from the lyrics (“You know what MTA stands for!” “Boots! Ten! Queen!”) or on social media.

So come on and kiki with me. I have a good reason: Marie Sexton and I had our first joint novel come out on September 10th. Watch the YouTube video and sing along, and if you see me on social media or at a conference, toss me a lyric as you go by, and we can kiki together then too.

(Warning: song has some salty language)

***

Heidi Cullinan has always loved a good love story, provided it has a happy ending. She enjoys writing across many genres but loves above all to write happy, romantic endings for LGBT characters because there just aren’t enough of those stories out there. When Heidi isn’t writing, she enjoys cooking, reading, knitting, listening to music, and watching television with her husband and ten-year-old daughter. Heidi also volunteers frequently for her state’s LGBT rights group, One Iowa, and is proud to be from the first midwestern state to legalize same-sex marriage.

Find out more at www.heidicullinan.com.

***

Second Hand
Available September 10, 2012

Paul Hannon moved to Tucker Springs for his girlfriend, but she’s left him with a house he can’t afford and a pantry full of useless gadgets. All Paul wants is to get back to normal, even if he’s not sure what that is anymore. When he wanders into Tucker Pawn for a gift to win her back, he meets El Rozal, pawn shop owner and all-around cynic.

El Rozal doesn’t do relationships, especially not with clueless straight boys still pining for their ex. El may make his living dealing in castoffs, but that doesn’t apply to men. Still, when Paul starts clearing out his old life, pawning kitchen equipment he never wanted in the first place, El is drawn to Paul in spite of himself.

Paul and El have nothing in common except a past full of disappointments. There’s no reason to believe the two of them could fit, but in El’s line of work, one man’s junk is another man’s treasure. When it comes to love, El and Paul may learn that secondhand doesn’t mean second best.

This title is part of the Tucker Springs universe.

Buy the Book

Heidi is offering up a digital copy of Second Hand. To enter, comment below about when you would want/need a Kiki. Or are you planning your next one right now? 🙂

Open until Tursday, September 13th at 11:59 pm (PST). Winner will be selected and notified on Friday.

15 thoughts on “A Kiki With Heidi Cullinan

  1. DarienMoya September 11, 2012 / 2:51 pm

    This video is so hilarious!! I like her broke down umbrella lol. I need a kiki all the damn time.

  2. Jbst September 11, 2012 / 3:33 pm

    I need a kiki every Friday. Thanks for the giveaway!

  3. sylvan65 September 11, 2012 / 3:40 pm

    Oh wow! Loved the video, had to post it to FB, thanks!

  4. Barbra September 11, 2012 / 7:09 pm

    I’m still on dial-up, so the video doesn’t work for me, but from your description, I need a kiki every Sunday night for sure, with random kikis thrown in during the week. 🙂

  5. Trix September 11, 2012 / 7:16 pm

    I need a near-constant kiki these days. Don’t we all?

    vitajex(at)aol(dot)com

  6. pinkylee1175 September 11, 2012 / 10:47 pm

    Wow, I really misread the title of this post and wasn’t sure what I was going to see! (I was reading it as the word that means two drag queens having sex. :S) But the video was fun.

    tkny(dot)done(at)gmail(dot)com

  7. Michelle (MiMi) September 11, 2012 / 11:24 pm

    Kiki every day…as soon as I get off work! I’ve been looking forward to this one…please count me in, thanks, chellebee66 at gmail dot com

  8. Penumbra September 12, 2012 / 2:18 am

    I wanna get invited to a Kiki! 😀

    penumbrareads(at)gmail(dot)com

  9. Renee September 12, 2012 / 2:21 am

    Now! I need a Kiki right now, a day when my bosses are demanding and so annoying. I actually didn’t finish any of the work I wanted to do today.
    I was going to say I needed a drink But I love this more.
    I need a Kiki 😉 Love it!
    renee-moore@live.com.au

  10. Giselle September 12, 2012 / 8:52 am

    Homeschooling mom here…. I need a Kiki 24/7.

  11. mantasticfiction September 14, 2012 / 1:19 pm

    Congratulations Vic Alexander … You won a digital copy of Second Hand by Heidi Cullinan and Marie Sexton. I will be contacting you directly about claiming your prize.

Leave a Reply

