The Voices in Stormy Glenn’s Head


When I hear voices in my head it’s usually because I did something stupid or finally thought of a witty addition long after the original conversation ended. But for a select few, those voices are transformed into something productive, and good, and entertaining for a lot of people.

Here is Stormy Glenn to talk about how she deals with the voices.

The Voices in My Head

I recently attended The Romance Convention hosted by Siren Publishing in Dallas, Texas. My publisher asked me to be part of a panel of authors for “How to Write Prolifically and Retain Your Sanity”…I almost hit the floor laughing.

What makes anyone think I’m sane? I hear voices in my head. Seriously, I hear voices…if I wasn’t a writer, I’d be certifiable. I just know it. The guys with the white hug me coats are just a story line away. But at least I know I’m nuts.

And isn’t that the first step? Acknowledging it?

I’ve come to learn that not many people understand the craziness that occurs in my head…unless you’re another author. I try to explain it to other people and they just back away in fear. I talk with another author about it, and they so totally get it…we start talking about how loud the voices get when a character wants his/her story written, overriding everything else.

I have a work in progress list as long as my arm. What is listed on my website is about half of what I am actually working on at any given time. The list on my laptop is astronomical. And that doesn’t even include the story ideas. I have one list of story ideas (notes, words, thoughts, things I transferred off of napkins or my arm) that was at #76 at last count.

The good news is that it means I’ll be doing this for awhile. There doesn’t seem to be an end to the things that catch my interest. I’m weird that way. I once had an entire book come out of a cookie sheet incident.

The bad news…I can never concentrate on one story at a time. If I’m working on a story, and it might be going very well, but then another voice starts to get louder in my head…I have to stop working on the story I’m working on, and start the one that is louder. Sometimes, I just need to get the beginning scene written down or create the characters and get them down on paper along with the basic story idea outline. Other times, I end up writing the entire story all of the way through from beginning to end.

But it quiets the voices… until the next time.

Stormy Glenn author pages can be found: WEBSITE | SIREN PUBLISHING | FACEBOOK | GOODREADS

Stormy is offering an e-book from her backlist. To enter, comment below about how loud the voices in your head are and what they tell you.

Open until Sunday, September 2nd at 11:59 pm (PST). Winner will be selected and notified on Monday.

28 thoughts on “The Voices in Stormy Glenn’s Head

  1. Jbst August 31, 2012 / 11:47 am

    No wonder you’re such a prolific writer, with the voices telling you so many ideas/stories to write.

    I don’t hear voices per se, but I do hear thoughts or a voice of reason or self in my head. It’s usually loudest when I’ve made a mistake and in the process of kicking myself in my mind.

    Thanks for the contest!
    strive4bst(At) yahoo(Dot) com

  2. Vicktor "Vic" Alexander August 31, 2012 / 11:49 am

    The voices in my head began at a young age and have gotten louder and now speak in different languages. They talk when I’m sleeping, when I’m trying to talk to someone, when I’m at the doctor’s office and they’re trying to examine me. People who know me don’t even blink twice when I pull out a recorder to record up to three or four book ideas or title ideas or even series ideas at any given moment.

    I started writing my book “Mark Me” way back at the beginning of this year and since then I’ve had seven books that have come out before it and I’m STILL not writing it, much to the annoyance of my friend Lor, because Elian isn’t just talking loudly, he’s SCREAMING at me to get his story written and finished.

    And I still managed to write another story before Elian’s, which would be why the little bastard is screaming at me now. Sometimes I feel like getting them all drunk or shooting them all with tranqs just so I can have a moment of peace.

    I know what you mean about the long WIP list, Stormy. The one online is considerably shorter than the one on your laptop which is still shorter than the ones written on scrap pieces of papers and recorded on recorders. But I’m so happy that it means you’ll be writing for a long time to come.

  3. LeeAnn Pratt August 31, 2012 / 2:53 pm

    I dont really hear voices its usually my conscience asking “are you sure about that”…lol only about things that might not be the best idea I have ever had…:)

  4. laurie g August 31, 2012 / 2:57 pm

    i can understand the ‘voices in my head’ lol. i have ADD so often my thoughts are in a whirl. but i am glad you have LOTS of ideas b/c it makes for great reading

    prisfan_ca@yahoo.com

  5. miriam roman August 31, 2012 / 3:00 pm

    lol, lets see the voices in my head tell me that i need to buy somemore of your books, but i tell them it has to wait untill payday and right now they are fighting back and forth as to what we need to cut in the budget to buy a new book! *grins* . i love your stories. thank you for writeing them for all of us to enjoy.
    miriam.whitewolf@gmail.com

  6. Debra Williams August 31, 2012 / 3:04 pm

    My voices usually hold conversations – “ya know, you really should stop reading and go clean something.”” But the book is lots more fun.” “But the cleaning won’t get done unless you do it.” “Oh well, nobody’s here today but me, so it can wait until tomorrow.” “Ok, that will do. And the book is a lot more fun.”

  7. Sally Lloyd August 31, 2012 / 3:28 pm

    Right now the voices in my head are swearing at my Tipp-Ex Pocket mouse because it’s not working properly. 😀

    But I have to say that when I read I hear characters in my head and they tell me the story. As I write and read the “evol” that is fanfic I find the voices in my head are my favourite characters from the things I read. What is really sad I guess is because they keep me company as I live on my own!!!

    And I do have a me voice which, at the moment, is being really good to me and telling me I’m an okay human being!

  8. stacy houston August 31, 2012 / 3:54 pm

    Remember Sybil?

  9. Shirley Frances August 31, 2012 / 4:03 pm

    hehe! the voices in my head don’t see eye to eye on most things. It’s like the devil and angel on the shoulder! Add that to my constant analyzing and tendency to overthink things and I end up with gravy for brain matter at the end of the day. Ah, and I forgot, they are bilingual, so half my voices speak English, a quarter speaks Spanish and the other quarter speaks Spanglish!!!

  10. laurastriplin August 31, 2012 / 4:58 pm

    One is telling me that my a** is fine just the way it is and I do not need to exercise. One is telling me that if I only was more disciplined in diet and exercise, I could keep my fat a** but get the rest of my body in shape. Another is telling me to move my fat a** and clean this mess of a house. So – basically, they all agree on two things. I was Sir Mix A Lots’ inspiration and they were right about being paranoid that there are people out there who are trying new ways to figure out they are thinking.

  11. yganoe August 31, 2012 / 6:51 pm

    The voices in my head are usually going a mile a minute…work, sports, kids….I even answer myself.
    Yvette
    yratpatrol@aol.com

  12. Brenda August 31, 2012 / 8:15 pm

    The voice in my head are always competing to see who will get me to either do something, meet someone or go somewhere. I have even gotten to the point of answering them so that they will shut up for a while. My family just goes with the flow, I try to remember to use the inside voice but sometimes things just slip out.

    brendabell@hotmail.com

  13. Victoria Reyes August 31, 2012 / 8:25 pm

    Stormy, great post n lil tidbit on how your mind works when you write your stories. 😉 Unfortunately the only voice I hear screams “CALGON TAKE ME AWAY!” LOL

  14. chellebe August 31, 2012 / 9:57 pm

    Right now I’m on a diet so all the voices in my head are talking about food so loudly I can’t hear anything else 😉 chellebe at comcast.net

  15. chickie434 September 1, 2012 / 12:59 am

    Well, the voices in my head are usually singing. And sometimes they’re not very loud, but when they are, I usually end up singing or humming out loud. LOL, my voices make life interesting…

  16. Foretta September 1, 2012 / 1:42 am

    Hmm no voices… all I can say is thank GOD my wonderful author friends have tons of voices going!!! LOL!
    forettarose@yahoo.com

  17. Cath Futers September 1, 2012 / 12:52 pm

    I think my husband’s a bit like you. He carries notebooks wherever he goes, little pocket sized ones that he writes in for each book and sometimes he gets so lost in them as well. He’s only had one book published so far – very different to yours – but still good. Next one’s just waiting for its isbn number though. Voices in my head – oh boy you just don’t want to know.

  18. Tammy September 1, 2012 / 3:39 pm

    I have 7 kids ranging from 5 to 19 all living at home still so any noice in my head is drowned out by all my kids LOL

    pademe_lee@yahoo.com

  19. Trix September 1, 2012 / 10:44 pm

    I went to Catholic school, so it’s like a cartoon–I have the devil (“chocolate! smut!”) and angel (“no, no, no!”) yelling over my shoulder all the time. Guess who’s ahead?

    vitajex(at)aol(dot)com

  20. Terri September 2, 2012 / 1:23 am

    Well I just started a diet so mine is crying. LOL! maybe that’s just me

    thanks
    terrilee.byles@yahoo.com

  21. Evelyn September 2, 2012 / 8:16 am

    I also carry a notebook around because I am always thinking of new poems to write! I love you books!!!!

    evelynmoly (at) yahoo (dot) com

  22. Jess Harrison September 2, 2012 / 7:06 pm

    Not sure if I have many voices but love the ones coming out of my books!!

    jessharrison78@yahoo.com

  23. Kim D September 2, 2012 / 9:26 pm

    All I hear is the drone of my prof! I might just go insane. LMAO

    swkimbell@yahoo.com

  24. mantasticfiction September 3, 2012 / 12:21 pm

    Congratulations Stacy Houston … you won! I will be contacting you directly about claiming your prize.

  25. StefanyOcampo September 5, 2012 / 10:42 pm

    I am sixteen
    It began with story the voice created before bedtime and now they follow me even in my dreams. I have tons of caracthers created only by on of the phrase you said. I dream about them. I hear it every time I created a caracther. Sometimes my friend talk to me and she say something completely stupid and wham! New caracther is borne and wants a sex a name a mate and a story. They won’t shut up until I give them their story. But like I said I am sixteen so what I do is tell the stories to my friend and wait until another one come to me in a dream or that I catch a phrase that will make the voice come back and harasses me until I give them watch they want.

    This year for my personal project I will put with help o the voice one story on paper.

    Oh and I live in Canada quebec and I love your stories. English is my third language so please overlook the mistakes

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

