Daniel A Kaine’s real life Mik and Ash


When you think about post-apocalyptic books about vampires and conspiring humans, I believe few would guess a connection with two small pets that look like small rabbits and are commonly called brush-tailed rats. But there are links all around us and you’ll never know what you can come up with unless you let your mind wander.

Here is Daniel Kaine to talk about what aspects of his two little friends mirror some really fantastic characters.

If you’ve been following me on Facebook and Twitter, then you’ll probably be aware that I have two adorable degus named Mik and Ash, after the two main characters in my Daeva series. But their names aren’t the only thing they have in common with my characters, because they also have similar personalities. Today I’m going to introduce you to the two of them.

First up is Mik, the main character from the first Daeva book, ‘Dawn of Darkness’. When the reader first meets Mik, he’s not much of a people person. He’s snarky, untrusting, and prefers to spend his time alone. Mik is fiercely determined and isn’t one to give up easily. After having spent the year at the Rachat Military Academy, he has formed a close friendship with his roommate Ash, and throughout the book we get to see Mik begin to open up, allowing himself to trust others.

And degu Mik is really no different. When I first got him he was scared stiff to the point where he refused to move if I was in the room, even if I was at the other end. If I put my hand in the cage to put some food in the bowl, he would bolt to the back corner. In short, he didn’t trust me one little bit. He loves his brother, Ash, and likes to snuggle up to him at night, although he still has moments where Ash gets a bit much for him and he wants to spend time alone. Slowly, Mik has learned to trust me. He hates being picked up, but will happily eat from my hand.

In the second book, ‘Origin of Darkness’, we get to learn more about Ash. He’s a lot more outgoing than Mik and likes spending time with others. Ash is bisexual, and has a bit of a reputation for sleeping around with the other cadets at the academy. To others Ash appears to be carefree and fun-loving, though in both books, particularly the second, we learn that he’s hiding a couple of dark secrets he’d rather no-one found out about.

Degu Ash is definitely an extrovert. He’s a very dominant personality and also extremely intelligent—he’s outsmarted me a few times already. Ash is always curious and nosy, and will always come to investigate anything that’s new. He loves human interaction, and can often be seen sat on the net at the top of the cage to say hello whenever I come home from work. He’s a bit cheeky though, and will use any opportunity to get onto the kitchen counter as he knows this is where the treats are kept. I’ve caught him several times now trying to steal peanuts.

So there we are, my two babies. I love them to bits and honestly couldn’t imagine living without them now. They’ll always make me laugh and smile with their antics. And if you haven’t seen them already, you can check out a couple of videos of them on my YouTube channel (http://www.youtube.com/user/DanielAKaine/videos) so feel free to drop by and watch the little rascals in action.

To those of you who have read, or are reading, the books, I hope you enjoy them. And if you’re going to New Mexico, I’ll see you there. I’m looking forward to it. Oh, and here’s a cheeky picture of some man loving for you all. I know you’ll appreciate it 🙂

Daniel A Kaine WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK

Daniel has added a print book to our GRL Reading Challenge Grand Prize. Remember to post your list for your chance to enter.

2 thoughts on “Daniel A Kaine’s real life Mik and Ash

  1. chickie434 August 31, 2012 / 11:35 am

    So adorable!!

Leave a Reply

