Get Distracted by AR Moler


When I get distracted I find myself standing in a room wondering what the hell just happened. When people like AR Moler gets distracted it spawns a highly successful, very inventive series that doesn’t seem to be slowing down anytime soon.

Here she is to talk about her Division P series and how it got it’s start.

Long ago in a galaxy far away…. Oops wrong tale. This one should probably start –In the middle of grad school when I probably should have been studying for comps… I got distracted. Not that that was anything new. My undergrad friends would joyfully attest to me writing plot lines in the margins of my notes while in class. I did well in college, really I did, I just tend to multitask.

Anyway, I came up with a plot line that featured three people, two men and one woman, and a mythical government agency that employed psychics. Only the woman was a psychic of that original trio, and back then I hadn’t embraced the concept that three could have an HFN, much less an HEA. It was a tale of spy-stuff and terrorists and some romance and I had intentions of one of the guys dying heroically to resolve the relationship problem. I hacked away at it for about forty some pages and never quite got the plot to actually work, so I shoved it in a file cabinet and more or less forgot about it for close to two decades.

Around 2007, I leaped into the e-publishing world, uneasily hoping somebody would buy my stories. Bingo, I sold some pieces to Torquere Press and still very happily send lots of tales their way. Remember that mythical government agency that employed psychics? That idea never quite went away. Torquere was running a particular line of stories at the time called Chasers- which basically released a novella or novel as three or four separate chunks. I had an idea, which involved a Navy pilot and an orthopedic surgeon. I resurrected the concept of “Division P”, placed it not too far from where I live and took off with the rest of the story. “Hell Dogs Squadron” was released that fall, after I spent half the summer on the phone with a real F/A-18 pilot, picking his brains for realism about being a Navy flyboy. The orthopedic surgeon part? I’ve had lots of firsthand experience being on the receiving end of that specialty, and have taken to portraying some of the more incompetent MD’s as characters. (What’s that old adage? Don’t annoy me, you could end up in one of my novels.)

Dr. Mason Flynn and Lt. Cameron Bradshaw have now become the stars of three novellas. The sequels are “Seeking the Balance” and “Zero to 165.” The Division P universe also now encompasses a fairly large number of other characters. Many have their own tales. I have been striving for many different gender combinations, because love and happy endings should be available for everyone. Yes, there’s m/m, but also some m/f, m/m/f and I’m working on a quad. I’ll call it a quad because it’s two men and two women and the relationship, if I can pull together the plot successfully, will feature ALL versions. I’m not the type to ever really get into that m/f/m thing where the guys don’t touch. It’s just not my thing. As Division P grows, there is a west coast branch developing and more and more characters do “walk ons” in each other’s books. There are plot bunnies lurking for more Cam and Mason stories and some of the other characters too.

Swing by my website at armoler.com and check out my list of books. | Facebook | Torquere page

AR is offering up a pdf of a book from her Division P series. To enter, comment below about your distractions and multi-tasking talents. Is there something that stops you every time no matter what you are in the middle of? A Spacer like me? Or productive while working 5 things simultaneously?

Open until Thursday, August 9th at 11:59 pm (PST). Winner will be randomly selected and notified on Friday.

11 thoughts on “Get Distracted by AR Moler

  1. Bobbejean Warner August 7, 2012 / 5:09 pm

    Usually I’m a pretty good multi-tasker. My biggest problem is when I cannot prioritize several things that all need to be done at the same time. My brain just completely shuts down and Solitaire card game magically opens on my computer LOL! I have to sort of turn off my brain and start on the first thing that I get my hands on so I can re-boot and get started again.

    Your books look stunning! I’m really looking forward to giving the Division P stories a try. By the way, the plot bunny on your website is terrifying!! You’d better be keeping him happy, LOL.

    Bobbejean

    bobbejean@msn.com

  2. Trix August 7, 2012 / 6:57 pm

    I’m finding myself more fragmented these days when I try to multitask. I can do it if it’s mostly physical stuff, but if it’s concerted mental effort that’s involved, it can be tough.

  3. yganoe August 8, 2012 / 11:35 am

    I am pretty good at multi-tasking….I think it comes with my profession.
    Yvette
    yratpatrol@aol.com

  4. Linda C August 8, 2012 / 12:00 pm

    I use to be very good at multi-tasking but alas I am getting older and my brain cells are dying by the millions! Though I must admit, my ability to get distracted developed a lot faster when I bought my Kindle!!

  5. Suze August 8, 2012 / 1:26 pm

    Its far too easy for me to be distracted! If the ironing needs doing then there must be a blog to check, if its the dusting to do then theres a book to read – you can see the theme here!

  6. nikid August 8, 2012 / 2:01 pm

    I actually multitask very well. However I am a great procrastinator. If I need to do something like house work I can always find a reason why the book I have been waiting to read is more important and the house really isnt that dirty. ha ha

  7. Lana A August 8, 2012 / 4:21 pm

    I can multitask but I’m procrastinating the things I don’t like to do quite often.^^;;

  8. Crissy M August 8, 2012 / 7:06 pm

    For the most part I can be pretty focused. I find it easy to handle more that one thing at a time…it keeps me busy and time flies by…one of my distractions is my niece…the kid is one and as cute as they come, the things she does are so adorable….also when I’m at work, I can get easily distracted by twitter…too many sarcastic funny comments to read 🙂 And finally the most distracting come in the form of Andrew Christian videos…mmmm…I can watch those all day long!

  9. arella3173 August 8, 2012 / 8:46 pm

    Oh, I like to think I multitask well…. LOL… I have no clue, I usually try to cook, read and listen to music at the same time. or sing out loud and read… I usually succeed in getting distracted by one thing but doesn’t mean I don’t try!! lol.. I also try to clean but sometimes I get so lazy I just give into reading. LOL…

    Thank you so much for the contest!

    Judi
    arella3173_loveless(at)yahoo(dot)com

  10. Lex Valentine August 8, 2012 / 10:24 pm

    Don’t enter me in the contest. I already have all things Cam and Mason. I just wanted to come by and fangurl over Amy because I love Cam and Mason sooooo much!

  11. mantasticfiction August 10, 2012 / 10:34 am

    Congratulations Yganoe! You won a Division P e-book from AR Moler. I will be contacting you directly about claiming your prize.

Leave a Reply

