Trina Lane Shares


If authors take the advice “write what you know” then it stands to reason that we may know a lot about some of our favorite authors than we realize. Here is Trina Lane to talk about the little nuggets of herself that have made it in her work.

Hey everyone!

I’m Trina Lane and I thought I’d pop in to share a little bit about how my fictional stories and real life are sometimes much closer than you may think. Every author has their own process when it comes to developing stories. As some of you read a couple of weeks ago, Ally Blue frequently finds inspiration while doing errands, and Scotty Cade apparently has friends with some golden property in Colorado. Personally I’ve always found it difficult to write a story and get the emotions and relationships to be meaningful if I have no experience in the subject matter or plot. Which is one reason why I don’t write fantasy.

However on the flip side of that, I am a relatively introverted person. More likely to hug the wall in big groups than be the one dancing on the bar. So the prospect of putting all my personal experiences out there to the masses is a little unnerving. The solution I’ve found to be most effective to find a good balance between reality and fiction with each story.

Take for instance Capturing Perfection, book three in my Perfect Love series, in my everyday job I work quite closely with many veterans and active duty service members. I have often heard them tell stories about their combat experiences. Many of my patients deal with PTSD and its effects at varying degrees. I wanted to tell a story that honored their service and give them a voice while at the same time give my character a happy ending that unfortunately many veterans will not have in real life. The concept of working in Logan’s sudden hearing loss and how that type of situation affects friends and family members is also part of my everyday job, so for a few months I literally took my work home with me.

Another example of how my real life and my fictional writing have crossed paths is when I write characters such as Niall, from Simply Perfection, and Phil, from In Dreams He Came. The arts have been a major part of my life from a very young age. I participated in numerous semi-professional choirs and chambers groups for the better part of twenty-five years. In high school I also started to develop an interest in fine art photography. If you were at GRL in New Orleans last year you may have seen me wandering the streets of the French Quarter with a backpack strapped on, full of camera equipment. Part of writing interesting characters, for me anyway, is to develop individuals with full personalities. This of course would include hobbies and interests. Consequently my first instinct is to draw from personal knowledge. Like any good researched I’m always looking for new experiences to spice things up. Cooking classes, drag racing, white water rafting. Hmmm…maybe I’ll write about a character who loves sky-diving. I’ve always wanted to give it a try. Whether or not I’ll use all my experiences in a story is questionable, but the research is always interesting.

In my most recent releases I’ve branched out into the paranormal genre. My Phantom River series is about a wolf pack in northwestern Montana. While it’s true that I don’t know any sexy wolf shifters personally-bummer-I have become very close to these characters. And, if you look hard enough you’ll see several aspects of my personality as well as those of my friends and family. In fact as a bonus to this little spotlight I’m giving away a copy of the third book in this series The Taste of Devotion. The book will be available for purchase from Total-E-Bound on July 30th. Here’s a quick blurb to wet your appetites.

Cooper Tessen, enforcer for the Phantom River Pack and Sheriff of Stonepass, has watched each of his two best friends enjoy their mated bliss. He’s thrilled they’ve found happiness, however, he feels a distance growing between him and his blood brothers because he has no experience of the connection between a shifter and his mate. Cooper fills the hours of his lonely days by spending as much time as possible working at the station to protect his town, and, secretly, off on dangerous missions for the government. Burning the candle at both ends gives him little time to focus on his longing to have a mate of his own.

Darren Caisil is on the run. Accused of a murder he didn’t commit, it’s either become a lone wolf or be killed by the very pack he’d spent his life trying to serve. He hits rock bottom when he finds himself lost, alone, hungry, and freezing in nowhere Montana during the dead of winter. His last semi—conscious thought as he succumbs to the inevitable is that an angel is lifting him towards heaven. When he wakes up in unfamiliar surroundings, he finds it wasn’t an angel after all, but a man. And not any man, but another wolf shifter…one who claims to be Darren’s mate.

As they explore their mating bond, Cooper tries to get Darren to open up about his past but the man refuses to share his secrets. Frustrated, Cooper decides to do a little digging on his own. Unfortunately, it seems Cooper’s investigation may have stirred up a hornet’s nest when it draws the attention of some of Darren’s former pack members who are bent on revenge…

As to how my life will affect my future writings, we’ll have to see. I’m taking this opportunity to announce to all my readers and internet friends that my husband and I are expecting our first child. We are completely thrilled as this baby has been eight long years in the making. At least we’ve gotten to have some fun with all the practice.  So don’t be surprised to find a character at some point in the future who’s having a friendly debate with their partner on color choices for the nursery, and why their child will not be named Woody.

Thanks for taking the time to stop by. I’ve had fun sharing, and happy reading in the future!

Trina Lane
WEBSITE | TOTAL-E-BOUND | DREAMSPINNER

Congratulations Trina!! Here’s wishing you and your husband all the best 🙂

Trina is offering up a digital copy of The Taste of Devotion. To enter, comment below about what in your real life (hobby, experience, interest) you would like to see in a book.

Open until Wednesday, August 1st at 11:59 pm (PST)

14 thoughts on “Trina Lane Shares

  1. Jbst July 31, 2012 / 3:04 pm

    One interest that I have is yoga that would be good for a story.

    strive4bst at yahoo dot com

  2. Jbst July 31, 2012 / 3:05 pm

    Forgot to say – Congratulations on expecting your new baby!

  3. Juliana July 31, 2012 / 5:46 pm

    Congrats! Put that in a book? I would like to see more reading in books, a sexy book worm!
    OceanAkers @ aol.com

  4. Teresa July 31, 2012 / 6:17 pm

    Congrats Trina! I can just imagine the debate over the name Woody, lol. I’m so jazzed for both of you. Looking forward to chatting again at GRL.

  5. Midia July 31, 2012 / 6:39 pm

    I’d like to see a character being a volleyball player. I played volleyball until my teens and I love it. And congratulations. 🙂

    midiamuniz@yahoo.com

  6. Penumbra July 31, 2012 / 9:20 pm

    Congrats Trina!

    I’d like to see someone who is a gardener, maybe of organic food. He may also run his own restaurant using the veggies from his organic farm. Food is a topic that I love in stories. Also if a story revolves around a holiday like Christmas it’s even better 🙂

    penumbrareads(at)gmail(dot)com

  7. Trix July 31, 2012 / 9:45 pm

    Hooray for your baby! I bet the Woody story is a good one. I second the bookworm comment, and it would be fun to see some art historians in a story (trying to couch my love of male nudity in academic terms has been a constant in my life since college). Food is definitely a plus in a story, and there aren’t enough hockey-related plots for my taste, either!

    vitajex(at)aol(dot)com

  8. Danny August 1, 2012 / 9:13 am

    Woohoo big congrats Trina to your DH, too! I would like to see a hero who draws mangas.

  9. Pati August 1, 2012 / 12:21 pm

    Congrats Trina & Hubby! What a fantastic time in your life! Thos naming debates are fun…. LOL! Thank you for the opportunity to win a copy of “The Taste of Devotion”. Also, as a family member of several military men and women, thank you for all that you do to help them.

    Pati
    JPM6966@aol.com

  10. arella3173 August 1, 2012 / 7:14 pm

    Enjoyed the post! 🙂
    Congrats to you, Trina and your husband! =D heh…
    And I think I would like to see more of… Hm, actually that’s a good question.. I can’t think of anything that I haven’t read of already. Maybe more books centered around a chef and some sexy obnoxious dude that falls for the poor lad and becomes humble by seeing how he struggles to get by? 😀 ahah…. idk… There are so many things I want to see I can’t come up with one or another I wanna see more. you know?

    Anyways, thank you for the contest!

    Judi
    arella3173_loveless(at)yahoo(dot)com

  11. Barbra August 1, 2012 / 9:22 pm

    Congratulations! The fun is just about to begin. 😉 As far as my interests…what I enjoy the most is clever dialogue, no matter what occupation. I do enjoy PI’s and police officers, and teachers, and scientists, and caterers, and artists, and mechanics, and so on and so on.
    Barbra aelnova@aol.com

  12. mantasticfiction August 2, 2012 / 11:18 am

    I’m a photographer so the part of my real life that I would like to see in books are more photographers 🙂

    I also really enjoy quilting but I don’t think that will make it in very many books unless the author gets real inventive 🙂

  13. mantasticfiction August 2, 2012 / 11:20 am

    Congratulations arella3173! You won a digital copy of The Taste of Devotion. I will be contacting you directly about claiming your prize.

Leave a Reply

