BA Tortuga does Summer


The summer heat of Florida is reason enough for me to slow down and take it easy. Not so for BA. The summer heat of Texas is when she throws it into hyperdrive. Here she is to tell us what she’s been up to.

Summer, Gluten Free Beer, and Learning to Love my Upper Arms

waves from Central Texas

So, for those of you unfamiliar with Texas weather, we have four seasons: Construction, Hot, Damned hot, and Christmas.

As the asphalt is melting and there’s no Fa La La in sight, I’m going to have to say we’re at hot sliding into damned hot at an alarming rate. Nowhere near as alarming as last summer’s record breaking heat wave, but hot enough that we’re walking the hounds at 10 pm (also known as ‘when it gets below 95 degrees outside’) and the bird baths have to be filled twice a day instead of every other.

Thank goodness for gluten-free beer. I know, I know, beer is bad for you – there are carbs and calories and a little thing called alcohol that makes you get into fights at the grocery store. And the WalMart. And the craft store… Anyway, sometimes a redneck girl needs an adult beverage and GF beer is my booze of choice. I spend a lot of time on my back porch in the late evening having a drink and thinking about ways to survive until Thanksgiving when the heat will break. 😉

Summer is a busy time for me, writing-wise. I try to build up the stores a little, avoid the heat of the day in my little office, and watch bullriding on TV instead of sweating it up at the local rodeos (my springtime habit). Right now I’m neck-deep in a novel about two musicians that are trying to discover what’s more important – their careers or each other. I tell y’all what – these two are breaking my heart, over and over. I keep telling them, they have to figure their stuff out or else, but big-time wealthy stars? Don’t listen worth a damn.

rolls eyes

I’m hoping to have the book finished before I head to New Orleans for Authors After Dark. That way it can be in my editor’s hot little hands while I’m busy wandering around one of my favorite cities on the planet. Julia and I have a list of places to revisit while we’re there – we tend to go a couple of times a year, once in the spring and once in the fall, usually,although this is not our first summer visit to the Big Easy.

My first summer visit down there, we’d driven to Baton Rouge for a bullriding (wherein I followed James DeBoer around a buffet, Chris Shivers bucked off and almost landed in my lap, and I watched two very young bullriders from the Carolina have a fight in an elevator), and we decided to spend a couple days in NOLA on the drive home. I learned on that trip, that the Place d’Armes hotel used to be an insane asylum, that if you go buy muffalettas in the middle of the night, you eat with members of the Mafia who are equally polite, charming, and well-armed, and that I could live with my upper arms being exposed. 😉 Seriously. I am the queen of sundresses in the heat of the summer now.

I can’t wait until AAD – waiting for hugs and visits and long rambling discussions about nothing at all. Please, if you’re about and see the pink haired tattooed lady in a sundress? Come say hi.

BA Tortuga
http://www.batortuga.com |TORQUERE
Because Sometimes Fistfights are Foreplay

BA is offering up an e-book from her backlist. To enter, comment below letting us know what you do with your summers.

Open until Thursday, August 2nd at 11:59 pm (PST)

BA has added a printbook to our GRL Reading Challenge Grand Prize. Remember to post your list for your chance to enter.

7 thoughts on “BA Tortuga does Summer

  1. yganoe July 31, 2012 / 1:14 pm

    I love to do NOTHING in the summer unless I am traveling…I teach so I try to take advantage of my summers and rejuvenate for the upcoming school year. I love to swing and read.
    Yvette
    yratpatrol@aol.com

  2. Jbst July 31, 2012 / 3:32 pm

    I like to go to a summer festival for food or music etc. Also, I like the longer daylight for shopping and just doing errands.

    strive4bst at yahoo dot com

  3. Michelle (MiMi) July 31, 2012 / 8:57 pm

    bbq and books…the perfect summer!
    chellebee66 at gmail dot com

  4. Penumbra July 31, 2012 / 9:15 pm

    I spend my summers usually gardening, working out at the gym and reading 🙂

    penumbrareads(at)gmail(dot)com

  5. Trix July 31, 2012 / 9:37 pm

    How does the taste of gluten-free beer compare to regular? I’m curious. Also interesting to know someone has dyed hair AND tattoos…lately I usually see just one or the other. (I don’t even know what the pink dye of choice is anymore…one of my favorite rock guys used to swear by Fudge’s Strawberry Fields, but that was in the late ’90s, good grief.) Anyway, those are some sexy-ass book covers, I’m psyched! Oh, and summer? I’ve been reading a lot, and FINALLY get to go to a concert (Redd Kross next week, in San Francisco–I’m psyched).

    vitajex(at)aol(dot)com

  6. arella3173 August 2, 2012 / 12:15 am

    Hm, during the summer we actually go out more. to the park, beaches or just plain out to the mall for their Aircon. LOL!!
    other than that… relax at home and read. nothing better than reading outside on a nice sunny day. Though, I like doing that more when there is at least a cool breeze. 🙂

    Thank you for the contest!

    Judi
    arella3173_loveless(at)yahoo(dot)com

  7. mantasticfiction August 3, 2012 / 11:08 am

    Congratulations arella3173 … you won an e-book from BA Tortuga. I will be contacting you directly about claiming your prize.

Leave a Reply

