Pen Names


Ok so here is a wonky question? I like pen names, understand the reasoning behind them, and enjoy when the author comes up with something really creative or witty. And I even get why an author would have multiple names for radically different audiences … Nora Roberts/JD Robb … it makes sense. I think it’s funny when they cross promote … the “JR Ward writing as Jessica Bird” romance novels come to mind since that totally contradicts the need for 2 names … haha.

For me, if I ever got famous, I would want to use my real name. I like it. And I still call authors I know in real life by their pen name instead of their real names because I wouldn’t be able to trust myself to switch back when it counted.

But I have a friend who is almost done writing her first book. She’s throwing around pen name ideas. She was at GRL last year. People know her by her real name. Would a pen name still be helpful or just confusing?

2 thoughts on “Pen Names

  1. Val Kovalin July 26, 2012 / 5:24 pm

    I don’t think a pen name would be confusing. As time passes, readers will know her by that name.

  2. Julia Talbot July 27, 2012 / 1:26 pm

    I think it’s entirely up to her. I kinda go by both in this business, and people don’t seem too confused

Leave a Reply

