Living in Sin with J.P. Bowie


Do you look around your town and just feel like there is nothing to do? And then you realize that you live in a widely popular tourist destination and you’re not quite sure what all the fuss is about? I do. A lot of people would love to live minutes from the beach and Daytona nightlife but it’s just the same old, same old to me.

Author J.P. Bowie can relate. Here is what he said about his current residency in one of the most iconic locations in the world. Apparently, what happens in Vegas, really does stay in Vegas.

Sin City – or as I call it now – Mickey Mouse’s Sin City.

This is the second time I’ve lived here – once back in the nineties when the boom was just beginning and again since 2006 when it started to go bust. I won’t dwell on the negatives – right now the heat is enough to bitch about! It’s fry-an-egg-on-the-pavement time for the next couple of months, and every year I say, can’t do this again – and here I still am.

And he’s been busy, busy, busy. As one of our gracious GRL hosts, he has been hard at work making sure that everything is ready. In addition, he has had a few recent releases and a more scheduled soon.

My latest release with MLR Press is A Self Portrait, one of my earlier books now extended (made sexier) and re-edited and available as a give away on my website.

Book 7 of My Vampire and I – Blood Lust – for Total-e-bound is also available.

Currently I have an upcoming release with TEB – a short story – Happy Ending and I’m working on the new Nick Fallon book from his series and Book 8 of My Vampire and I – Blood Talisman.

It’s all go, I tell you – thanks goodness the GRL Organization team has been augmented by the recent inclusion of Damon Suede and Theresa Angelo whose drive and vitality are huge assets and we greedily use them all up!

Looking forward to seeing you all in Albuquerque in October!
Cheers, JP

J.P. is offering up 2 e-books from his backlist. To enter, comment below about some of the coolest things you associate with Vegas. Or is there an iconic stop around your own neck of the woods?

Open until Sunday, July 15th at 11:59 pm (PST). 2 winners will be selected and notified on Monday.

17 thoughts on “Living in Sin with J.P. Bowie

  1. kbranfield July 13, 2012 / 1:53 pm

    I love going to Vegas for the PBR World Finals. Not because it’s Vegas, but because of the hawt cowboys ;-)!

    Closest iconic stop around my neck of the woods is Ft. Sumner, NM-infamous for Billy the Kid’s death and grave! I don’t actually live there; it’s just the closest place iconic area in the wasteland of eastern New Mexico 😉

  2. yganoe July 13, 2012 / 2:12 pm

    I have never been to Vegas but in PA we have our version of The Falls like Niagra Falls.
    Yvette
    Yratpatrol@aol.com

  3. Pati July 13, 2012 / 3:56 pm

    I’d love to take in some of the shows and visit my cousin who lives in Vegas. 🙂

    I live close to one of the top vacation spots in the world, Sanibel Island, FL. and I don’t see the appeal at all. I’m not a beach person andit’s too hot most of the year so we stay in the a/c as much as possible and half the year the traffic is horrendous. We’re always saying we can’t understand why so many people want to visit! LOL! I guess it’s just a case of the grass is always greener.

    Thanks for the chance to win!
    Pati
    JPM6966@aol.com

  4. Cinders July 13, 2012 / 3:56 pm

    uummm the town I live in has 2500 people give or take. I have the Smokies close but to me they are beautiful but I do not get all giddy.
    Cinders
    crozzy67@nctv.com

  5. Trix July 13, 2012 / 4:02 pm

    The one time I went to Vegas, it was in the middle of July…painful! I’d love to go back sometime when it wasn’t so miserable out. The thing that stuck with me was the food at Lotus of Siam, a mile or so off the Strip…some say it’s the best Thai place in the US, and I did really enjoy it a lot. (Tips: the sour sausage with crispy rice SOUNDS horrible, but is heavenly. And even if you skip the mango with sticky rice at other places, leave room when you go to LoS.) It would be cool to explore the old-school Vegas, too, even though I don’t know what’s left away from the Strip.

  6. Mary Tisci July 13, 2012 / 7:26 pm

    I live in So. Cal. so yeah there is a lot of tourist traps here. Me and my sisters use to go to Disneyland to people watch. It was always amusing to see what people from out of town wore. The Japanese were the best! The women walking around in their FM shoes I had a lot of respect for them to be able to do that all day on cement!

    MFierydrgn@aol.com

  7. Barbra July 13, 2012 / 8:00 pm

    Never been to Vegas. Had a gret-aunt and uncle who lived there for YEARS,
    but they always came “back home” to visit, so I never went there.
    I live in the Dallas/Fort Worth metro area, so probably a lot of touristy things
    around, but I’m not really sure what would entice someone from out of state to
    visit. 🙂
    Barbra
    aelnova@aol.com

  8. mantasticfiction July 13, 2012 / 8:33 pm

    Hey kbranfield … I’ve been there! I’m a big old west fan and my sister and I trolled around that whole area for about 3 weeks. When we did the tour where Billy the Kid was supposed shot, I looked at my sister and before I could even ask she told me “no, she was not going to lay on the ground so I could take a picture.” Haha … such a spoilsport 🙂

  9. mantasticfiction July 13, 2012 / 8:39 pm

    Hey Barbra … the stockades are really cool. When I was there they had a guy who walked up and down the main road with a bull. Oddly, when I had lunch at a steakhouse off the same street they gave me grief about asking for barbeque sauce. Haha … apparently that was an insult to their cooking and the waitress was all flustered. 🙂

  10. PaParanormalFan July 13, 2012 / 11:48 pm

    Comment about some of the coolest things I associate with Vegas. I have never been to Las Vegas but what I have heard from people who have visited there, that they were amazed by the larger then Life Atmosphere, that at night they all the Lights were Incredible….& the Food was Great. 🙂 Also one thing that you have that no one else does…..the Multi-talented Terry Fator, the celebrity impressionist, singer, comedian, & ventriloquist, he’s FANTASTIC & plays only at The Mirage. I would LOVE to see he perform

    Is there an iconic stop around my own neck of the woods? I live outside of Philadelphia, PA & I often forget how Historically rich an area we live in. We have the Independence Hall
    which is the Birthplace of both the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution, The Liberty Bell Center our known symbol of Freedom, Valley Forge National Historical Park
    where the spirit of the Revolution received its sternest test, The Betsy Ross House
    which is the birthplace of the American Flag, The Battleship New Jersey
    which was Admiral “Bull” Halsey’s Flagship and the Nation’s most Decorated Battleship & Washington Crossing Historic Park where Washington made his famous trip across the Delaware…just to name a few.

    I would very much appreciate the opportunity to be considered in your very generous giveaway. Thank You.

    Take Care & Stay Naughty,
    PaParanormalFan (Renee’ S.)
    paranormalromancefan at yahoo dot com

  11. Penumbra July 14, 2012 / 2:59 am

    Honestly, I can’t think of anything cool about Vegas. It’s so hot there and I’m not really into all the nightlife and shows.

    Around here what we like to do is head over to Half Moon Bay when salmon season is running and buy fresh caught salmon straight from the fishermen. Absolutely delicious! 🙂

    penumbrareads(at)gmail(dot)com

  12. mantasticfiction July 14, 2012 / 9:26 am

    Hey PaParanormalFan (Renee’ S.) – LOVE Philly … I like it better than New York and I really like NY. Philly has always had the wow of NY but with more of a historical vibe. Touching the Liberty Bell was really cool. And the small cemeteries and parks nestled between the old building were kind of relaxing. Have you run up the museum steps like Rocky yet? Me and my friends got up almost half way and then has to walk/crawl the rest … but we made it to the top. 🙂

  13. Linda July 14, 2012 / 1:54 pm

    Sin city might be nice, but it’s those little things you see. I’m from NY I love going to places like Niagara Falls, Old Westbury Gardens. Seeing Howe Caverns, just seeing the oceans on Long Island and the mountains upstate. that puts a smile on my face.

    please enter me in your contest
    yinyang1062 at yahoo dot com

    thanks

  14. arella3173 July 14, 2012 / 8:02 pm

    Haha… well… Since for me Vegas is practically around the corner, I don’t see anything… special about it. LOL.. I visit friends and family in Vegas often enough that it’s all just another place with attractions for me.

    And well.. I live about 15minutes away from the Hollywood so for me it’s just.. blah. I’m over it. LOL… But I think that would be the iconic stop Here with me in Southern California. lol… The Hollywood walk of fame and all those other places and restaurants and that crazy stuff that singers and actors visit.

    For me personally, I am always a bit… star struck, I guess, lol, Going to Disneyland California Adventure. That Is a place ALL that visit California must try to go to. It has some of the most breath taking displays and shows…. I swear I almost always tear up at the sheer awe it inflicts in me.

    Heh, Please count me in on the contest! thank you so much!!

    Judi
    arella3173_loveless(at)yahoo(dot)com

  15. Jbst July 15, 2012 / 7:46 pm

    In March, I went to Las Vegas with some friends who were regular visitors. Some really good food buffets like the Carnival buffet at the Rio hotel and Todai buffet. My friend’s husband thought this Todai was the best that he’s eaten at. I thought so too.

    Thanks for the giveaway! strive4bst at yahoo dot com

  16. mantasticfiction July 16, 2012 / 12:55 pm

    Congratulations Pati and Jbst … you won an e-book from JP Bowie’s backlist. I will be contacting you directly about claiming your prize.

Leave a Reply

