Perfect Picture with Laura Harner


I am a photographer so pictures mean a great deal to me. And with pinterest, tumblr, blogs, and the goodreads.com sponsored writing events becoming so successful, author’s and readers are being inspired all over the place.

Here is Laura Harner to talk about some of the images that inspired some of her best sellers.

Thank you to MANtastic fiction for hosting the authors who will be attending GRL in October. I can’t tell you how excited I am to be lucky enough to attend this year.

Who am I?

For those who don’t know me, I’m Laura Harner and I write in a variety of genres including MM and MMF. As a reader, I have always enjoyed reading books in a series so that I can get to know the characters over time. I tend to write books the same way. I have several series already published, including Willow Springs Ranch (MM), Separate Ways (MM), and Three’s Allowed (MMF). I’m also working with the wonderful T.A. Web on a new vampire series to follow the Altered States free read I wrote for the Love is Always Write (LiAW) event with the MM Group at GoodReads. I keep plenty busy, and recently quit my day job to write full time.

Inspiration

Writers are often asked where we get our inspiration for a book or series. Sometimes you don’t know…other times you do.

Dan Skinner, AKA DWS photography (also DantheDanimal) has been a favorite source of inspiration for some time. I remember the first time I saw the photo of a cowboy in a jock…well—it’s a lot easier to show you:

Quite literally, I saw the photo, and a few hours later, Tyler Hardin sprang to life and I was writing notes on the back of a grocery receipt—desperate to get to my computer and start writing.

Before I even finished writing Ty Hard, Dan sent me another photo, and it was like being hit upside the head…I knew exactly what the sheriff in Ty Hard would look like, and that I would write Hold Tight as the next book in the series.

If you want to see some of the inspiring photos from DWS Photography- you can look him up on Facebook, or go to his website at: http://cerberuseros.deviantart.com/

Here’s the Hold Tight cover inspired by Dan:

The blurb:

Sheriff Holden Titus had organized his fresh start down to the last detail. Except for the part about the bomb that blew his plans all to hell. Now he’s running out of time, without a job, without a home, and struggling to get back on his feet. Literally.

Despite the impolite rejection, Drew knows he didn’t have the wrong impression months ago when he asked the sheriff to dance, but he never expected to have Holden’s life in his hands. Literally.

Thanks to some meddlesome matchmaking, the two men are now temporary housemates at the Willow Springs Ranch and Drew is determined to help Holden heal, both physically and emotionally. Even if it means he has to drag the other man kicking and screaming to physical therapy…and out of the closet.

In fact, that might be kind of fun.

The problem is, Holden doesn’t consider himself in the closet…but not all secrets are created equal.

And here’s a quick glimpse:

Prologue

“What the fuck do you mean he’s on the way to the Willow Springs Ranch?” Sheriff Holden Titus shouted into his phone as he hurried into the kitchen.

Ty and Cass stopped their conversation to look at him as he struggled to untangle the Velcro tabs on his Kevlar vest. God this was just another cluster-fuck. Everything had been under control. Then one of his goddamn deputies located the suspect the entire county was looking for and decided to let him go? He shouted directions at the hapless officer who’d drawn the short straw and had been the one to call in the fuck up. Now the suspect appeared to be driving straight here to the ranch, the location of the original cattle killing crime. He hoped to God the man wasn’t looking to come after ranch-owner Cassidy Cartwright or his partner Tyler Hardin.

Holden wrapped up his conversation with a few terse orders then turned to face the two men. He apprised them of the situation, noting the way Cass moved closer to Ty while the former Navy SEAL seemed to bow up slightly, as if he was preparing for battle. He knew the man could handle himself, but given his struggle with PTSD, he’d just as soon the two men go somewhere else for a bit. Just in case the fugitive had fighting on his mind.

“I suggest—” His words were lost in a thundering explosion that rocked the kitchen to its foundation, shattering glass and raining hell upon all three of them. He couldn’t exactly say his life flashed before his eyes, but the regrets certainly did. In the remaining seconds of his life, Holden Titus saw a perfect vision of the future he would never have.

Thanks again to MANtastic Fiction and I look forward to meeting many of you, either in person at GRL or on my Facebook page. Stop on by!

Buy links:

Hold Tight at All Romance eBooks
Laura Harner’s Amazon Store
LE Harner at Barnes and Noble
Hold Tight at Smashwords

Find me at:
Connect with me online:
 http://lauraharner.blogspot.com/
Twitter: http://twitter.com/lauraharner
Facebook: http://facebook.com/lauraharner

Blog: Pen is Envy (NSFW) http://leharner.blogspot.com/

Laura Harner is offering up a digital copy of her latest release, Hold Tight. To enter, comment below about some of your favorite images. Are the best ones explicit, barely there, sweet, or left to the imagination?

Open until Friday, July 6th at 11:59 pm (PST). Winner will be selected and notified on Saturday.

Please note that comments with multiple clickable links may end up in spam … I will try to check regularly to approve comments with hyperlinks. As a way around this, you may want use individual comments for each image.

7 thoughts on “Perfect Picture with Laura Harner

  1. CaryLory July 3, 2012 / 3:06 pm

    Sorry but looks like Ty is in a diaper??? otherwise he is hot.
    Did love Hold Tight and will read it —- your a new author for me so I am anxious to explore your writing.

  2. Bobbejean Warner July 3, 2012 / 3:32 pm

    I try not to go to the picture sites – whenever I do, I end up losing entire days to the pretty pictures. Instead, I limit myself to the pictures that I find on some of my favorite blogs and to the amazing cover art that I find on books. I know that I have favorites of all kinds – explicit, barely there, even sweet. I love the one you show here for Hold Tight. You see both strength and vulnerability. I’m definitely putting them on the TBB list!!

    Bobbejean

    bobbejean@msn.com

  3. Barbra July 3, 2012 / 6:42 pm

    I really like sweet. There’s nothing like a hug or a kiss. 🙂

    Barbra
    aelnova@aol.com

  4. Trix July 4, 2012 / 12:34 am

    I have a LOT of gay male imagery around, in books and other formats, and it depends on the situation. An unusual camera angle, setting, or situation helps to make the image memorable. Sometimes a beautiful face or the hint of a collarbone is enough, and sometimes my heart will break if I don’t see that beautiful guy’s erection or cumshot! Ideally, I like a combination–sweet romance expressed in a very explicit way.

  5. Avalie July 4, 2012 / 2:07 pm

    Two guys in bed with the sheets strategically placed, cuddling, or, at the other end of the scale, one naked guy in bondage (red silk ropes) with just the hint of a dom in the background

  6. mantasticfiction July 7, 2012 / 1:29 pm

    Hi Avalie … you won a digital copy of Hold Tight. I will be contacting you directly about claiming your prize.

Leave a Reply

