Zombie Rain Interview part III by Zach Sweets


For anyone who enjoyed He-Man and She-ra as a kid, spent hours devouring comic book lore, or those who can’t get enough of black and white cult classic horror films, then I have a recommendation for you. Zombie Rain is the first installment of a fast paced, chaotic world at the beginning of a zombie apocalypse. Like any good serial the ending will give you more questions than answers, but don’t fret, there is much more to come in this ongoing saga. And to hold us over until the next release, author Zach Sweets is conducting a series of interviews with the two heroes of this universe, Jake and Rex.

Interview with Jake Part Three

To read the first part, you can go to Joyfully Jay’s website.
To read the second part, you can go to Chicks and Dicks.


“Hi, Jake. Does Rex tend to do that? Locking himself in a room without letting you in?”

“Every time he thought he heard Carl, yes. I have no idea if that was really Carl’s voice. I never met him. We did search for him and found his truck but he wasn’t inside.” Jake stared at the door, looking sad.

“I really hope it’s really Carl. Rex seemed really upset when I asked what happened to his family.”

“You actually asked him that? Are you some heartless jerk or what?”

“I’m sorry, but the readers need to know who Rex is. I want to know who he is. He has so many secrets.” Walking toward the wall, Zach rested his back against it, standing still.

“I know. That’s one thing I love about Rex. He never ceases to surprise me.”

“I guess that’s a good thing about relationships where you continue to learn something new about him.” Smiling, Zach flipped a page to a blank paper and had his pen ready. “What happened the day you first learned about the Zombies?”

“Now you want to interview me?” Jake looked furious for some reason.

“Rex’s occupied and you’re the only other person that knows what’s been going on lately.” Zach answered as fast as he could before Jake lost his temper.

“The first day I saw a zombie was my own son.” Jake snapped. “Thomas was only seven years old. He was full of joy until that damn girl bit him. We’d only gotten back from camping. If I never let him go to the neighbors to play and instead forced him to help me put our stuff away, he’d be still alive.” Tears were pouring down Jake’s cheeks and soon he was sobbing hard. He fell onto his knees. “I refused to believe Rex that Thomas was really dead until Thomas was about to attack me when I opened the bedroom door. Rex shot Jake in his head. It all happened in just a few hours!” Jake yelled in agony.

Zach went silent and wished he’d never asked him that question. “I’m really sorry.” Alternating between thoughts of wanting to approach Jake to comfort him or staying where he was, he decided to do nothing for now.

Jake took a deep breath and struggled to control his crying. Looking up to Zach, his eyes were red and he used his shirt to swipe his nose. “Jeez, I can’t believe I lost it. I thought I’d be fine talking about Thomas. It felt like it happened only a few hours ago.”

“It’s fine, really. Is there anything else you would like to tell me about the zombies? If you can, if not, that’s okay.” The last line, he spoke it fast to ensure Jake was okay.

“Yes, I’m fine. In between locking Thomas in his bedroom and Rex finding me, I was at my neighbor’s house. Their front door was knocked down and I found Mrs. Jones trapped under a table and her husband was dead. As soon as I got her out, she was lost to one of the zombies. Many children were turned too. It was like watching a horror movie where everyone was killing each other. Blood everywhere. It wasn’t a pleasing sight either.” Jake shuddered.

“I can imagine. You said you both were coming back from the camp, didn’t you see zombies wandering or hear on the radio about them?” Zach continued writing the answers on his notepad.

“I played music on radio all the way back home and zombies weren’t around.” Jake sighed deeply. “I wish I listened to radio instead.”

“Jake? Can you come in here, please? Zach, you stay!” Rex called out through the room door.

“I’ll wait in the kitchen.” Zach stated before Jake apologized or said anything.

Well, there you go, it was hard to interviewing them! Hopefully there will be more as soon as they get out of the room.


Blurb: Jake’s world is torn apart when his son dies, killed by a little girl who has infected him with a strange disease. Soon, Jake’s entire hometown is overtaken by the disease. A disease that turns them into flesh-craving monsters. The combination of tragedy and horror is almost more than Jake can take, but then he meets Rex, a man who has been struggling through the horror in search of more survivors. The two men travel together, searching for answers and other survivors, the growing bond between them the only bright light in their dark world.

But then that light is taken brutally away, and Jake is left struggling to find it again, fighting against insurmountable odds and growing despair …

Buy Link: Less Than Three Press for $3.99



About Me:
Zach, an army brat, was born in El Paso, TX, and has lived in North Carolina, Germany, Kansas, California, and the District of Columbia, before graduating from University of Baltimore in May 2010, with a degree in Applied Information Technology. He now resides in Arizona, where he moved to start a new adventure with his partner and dog.

In his spare time, Zach enjoys reading, mainly horror. He enjoys doing outdoor activities, and he runs on a daily basis. He participates in charitable running events, from 5k up to marathon distances.

Zach writes as often as he can and likes to push himself with writing challenges. Joining the M/M Romance group on Goodreads.com has immensely boosted his motivation to become a successful Deaf author, writing about man to man love, with some horror thrown in for good measure.

When he is not writing or reading, Zach likes to practice his web design and development skills. He loves to hang out with love of his life as often as he can, finding things to do inside and outside the house, whether it be yard work, hiking, bike riding, walking their dog, eating out at a cozy diner, or just loving.

You can find Zach at his website, share books with Zach on Goodreads, follow Zach on Twitter, or friend Zach on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

