CR Guiliano’s Inspired Community


Series creation has always fascinated me. How does an author decide when to stick with a set of characters and when to say goodbye? How do they keep all the timelines and minute details together? Just thinking about trying to plot out all the possibilities makes my brain hurt. But for some, like new author CR Guiliano, community living is as easy as 1-2-3.

I’ve had many people ask me where I get my inspirations for stories from, especially with the genre I write. The truth is…everywhere. I get inspired by other’s stories. I get inspired by certain careers and even certain types of men. I see something and suddenly I’m scrambling for my ever present notebook to scribble down the bones of the idea before losing it.

I have ideas bombarding me on a daily basis; it can get a bit daunting. But I love telling stories. I love creating the characters, both major and minor. I love how I get involved in my writing and suddenly, that story sparks another…and another…and another.

I didn’t think I would be good at, or want to write series’, but that has turned out to be one of my most favorite things to do. Seems I can’t write a stand alone without wanting to do a prequel, or a sequel or a brand new story on a minor character. If I keep following this way of writing, many of my characters are going to get very popular. They’ll be showing up all over the place. *grins*

I have to say, and give credit, that my first thought in writing stories that interconnect came from G.A. Hauser. She is clearly the queen when it comes to storylines and cameos with her characters. I adore that! It gave me the inspiration and courage to do the same. Since then, I have come across many of my favorite authors that do that as well. It’s wonderful to see beloved characters show up in another story or to read a book that tells you all about how that character came about.

It may be a personal choice in enjoying those kinds of books versus stories that stand alone, but I don’t think I’m the only one that feels that way considering how popular they are. Many of my own readers and fans have asked when such-in-such is going to have their own story, or is such-in-such going to be featured in another book, or even will you ever give us such-in-such’s background story. My answer is always…YES!

So, my dear ones, expect many more stories to come and just maybe, you will already know the people in it. And I, lovely readers, will go out and get inspired and sit down to tell you more stories.

****

I am a fairly new author, only published since September, 2010. I have seven self-published books (two in a series), one anthology (with two more in the works) and one submittal to a publishing house. I have more than 35 works-in-progress. Needless to say, I love to write.

So far, my genre has been gay erotic romance, however, I have several books in the works that are paranormal, fantasy and science fiction.

I, periodically, load free reads on my blog and enjoy visits there as often as possible.

I’m a single mom with a day job, but I hope to someday write full time. That is my dream, my goal. I have wanted to be a writer since I was a child, and there is nothing more fulfilling for me than to tell a story and have others enjoy it.

Author Blog
Works in Progress Blog

Leave a Reply

