Geoffrey Knight Plays Well With Others


Have you ever wondered how two authors can write one book? I have. 2 visions, 2 styles, 2 speeds, 2 egos and sensibilities, and, in the case of Knight & Day, even 2 different continents. But if this post is anything to go by, I don’t think Geoff and Ethan had any trouble mixing it up.


A couple of days ago, as the pressure was getting to Ethan Day and I to finish our first co-authored novel, To Catch A Fox, I sent him an email saying this:

You shit all over everything I write! I hate working with you!

To which he replied:

Yes, it’s my life’s goal to piss all over everyone else’s dreams.

And on opposite sides of the planet we both LOLed! Of course I was joking, and in response, Ethan raised my joke and called my bluff. And that right there is what I call a great writing partnership. It’s just like any great partnership. You have to know when to push and when to pull back, when to give and when to take, when to laugh and when to say “that sucks!”, when to say “you’re awesome!” and when to say “are we writing the same book here??”

So let me tell you more about the book we just finished (which will be out in time for GRL 2012!). As I mentioned, it’s called To Catch A Fox. It’s a gay mystery-thriller-action-comedy-everything that tells the story of Jon Fox, a hot gay detective in New Orleans (is there any other kind we want to read about?) who one day has a new client walk through the doors of his office. She’s a sweet old lady, kinda like Betty White, the image of whom became so stuck in our heads that we ended up calling her character Betty Black. Anyway, so Betty walks into Fox’s office and says she wants to hire Fox, not to track somebody down, but to teach her everything he knows about detective work. Why? Because she wants to track someone down on her own. Why? Because she wants to kill that person without being detected herself.

Ah, but that’s just the beginning of the story, one that has so many twists it’ll make a corkscrew blush with inadequacy!

But back to the art of co-writing a book.

The fascinating thing about this process is, not only do you learn a lot about your co-author, but you learn a lot about yourself! Would you like juicy details? Of course you would, but unfortunately we’re writers, so there ain’t much juiciness happening… except of course when it comes to writing a sex scene together!!! Ooh-la-la! But I’ll be leaving those slippery secrets to the very end of this post.

In the meantime, here’s what I learned about myself as a writer in this process:

1. I’m SLOW! I write really slowly! Ethan can bang out 5,000 words in a day no problems, whereas me? I potter about taking dogs on walks, updating my iTunes playlists and posting hot guys on Facebook (hey, it’s a New Year’s Resolution, I can’t stop now!)

2. I’m UNORGANIZED! (Helen Beattie can verify this fact! I would have had nothing to take to GRL last year if not for her!). While Ethan is writing lists containing names of minor characters and backstories that provide the motivations of why our characters murder, blackmail, screw, or fall in love with each other, I bug him with questions like, Who’s this guy? Why did he do that? What do you mean you killed him off in Chapter 6, I just wrote him into the climax?!

3. I’m WAY TOO LAID BACK! I think it’s an Australian thing. Last year I told Ethan we’d easily have this book finished for GRL… 2011… in New Orleans! Mmmm, I think we missed that riverboat! Nevermind, we’ll make the next one. I promise!

And here’s what I learned about Ethan (brace yourself, baby, it’s all coming out)!

1. He writes like a DEMON, then sits up in bed at night and rewards himself with fluffernutters! The first time he said he was eating a fluffernutter in bed I thought he was fucking some cute chunky guy with big balls! I’m Australian, I’ve never heard of a fluffernutter before. When he told me what it was I was (a) disappointed, and (b) revolted! Marshmallow and peanut butter? Where’s my sickbag?

2. I am suspicious that he is officially a VAMPIRE! I send him emails when he should be asleep, not expecting (or wanting) an immediate response, hoping to buy myself a little more time to write, when suddenly ZING! A reply comes through. Back in thy coffin, Nosferatu! Let Geoff make a desperate effort to catch up with your word count!

3. Apart from the thought of sandwiches that make me sick up in my mouth and my frantic efforts to write as fast as him, I can now testify that Ethan is a true ANGEL of our industry. He is an amazing writer! He’s hilarious, intelligent, practical, daring, inventive, compassionate and just plain fun… and so is his writing!

In short, I can’t wait for us to start writing the second Fox novel—A Fox In The Hole—and I hope Ethan feels the same!

Oh wait, I didn’t talk about writing sex scenes together…!

Mmmm… maybe next time. 🙂

To celebrate the completed first draft of his current project, Geoffrey Knight is offering up an e-book copy of one of his recently released, Scott Sapphire and the Emerald Orchird. To enter, comment below on the great fluffernutter debate of 2012. Are you a fan or do you have another guilty pleasure?

Open until Saturday, June 30th at 11:59 pm (PST). Winner will be selected and notified on Sunday.












16 thoughts on “Geoffrey Knight Plays Well With Others

  1. kbranfield June 26, 2012 / 11:27 pm

    LMAO!!! What a fan-freakin-fastically funny blog post! I’m holding you to having To Catch a Fox finished by GRL 2012. And I am so totally with you on the fluffernutter debate! Why would someone want to ruin perfectly good peanut butter with disgusting marshmallow??? Cannot wait to see you again in Albuquerque! And did I mention I’m impatiently waiting the release of To Catch a Fox?? Muah!!!

  2. scarletty24 June 26, 2012 / 11:29 pm

    Jeez Geoff Fluffernutter is awesome! I am with Ethan on that one! ou guys seem to have had so much fun writing it I just cant wait to read it.

  3. Aniko June 27, 2012 / 12:52 am

    Tease! What’s with the author tease going around lately?? Lol. I’m so looking forward to meeting some of my favourite authors in Albuquerque, including you and Ethan of course! Hopefully I’ll be able to get a copy signed by you both 😀

  4. Ab Gayle June 27, 2012 / 12:55 am

    The book sounds great.
    Seriously, Geoff, what did you think you contributed to the collaboration. Is one of you better at writing action? plotting? I’m sure you brought something to the table.
    Alison

  5. Geoff Knight June 27, 2012 / 3:59 am

    Thanks for the comments guys!!! Fluffernutters sound gross, you’d have to tie me down to get one of those things in my mouth (I’m talking about Fluffernutters when I say that!). And Alison, good question! And that’s exactly why Ethan and I got together. He’s great at character and dialogue and those amazing one-liners, and I’m good at action and suspense, so we figured between the two of us… this might be the best of both worlds. We so hope it is!!!! xx

  6. yganoe June 27, 2012 / 4:30 am

    I love the way you describe the book. Can’t wait to read it.
    Yvette
    yratpatrol@aol.com

  7. Poppy Dennison June 27, 2012 / 6:15 am

    Awesome post Geoff! You always make me smile, or snort my coffee…which is painful! 🙂

  8. Bill Gay June 27, 2012 / 10:38 am

    That was a FANTASTIC post!!! I loved the “corkscrew” line!! I had bought Curse, and Riddle and had noticed Cross of Sins (on another search) – I wanted to read them in order, and had a “polite debate” w/a book company about which one I should read first – I thought Cross, They said Riddle. They didn’t even know about Cross!!! So, obviously they didn’t offer it (duh). I later got an apology – wonder if they offer that book now?? But, Cross is in my pool bag and is my next read – can’t wait!! And will be getting and reading Sapphire – would love to win it, but, if not, I’ll still be getting it. As for “fluffernutters” – sounds nasty – marshmallows rank right up there w/banana’s – must be a texture thing – yuck. 2 days ago I baked my first ever chocolate – chocolate chip cheesecake – SCREAMING deelish!!! I’m not much into baking, but, I must admit, I knocked this sucker right out of the park!! My neighbors just love me!! Especially the “round” one’s!! (That’s said with MUCH love – they know who they are and love it!! And my regular cheesecake, and my brownies…..) K, done writing my book here!! Oh, and the new book appears to be next on my wish list!!! Tx!!!

  9. Avalie June 27, 2012 / 11:22 am

    I really enjoyed that. And it worked, cos now I can’t wait to read the book. Fluffernutters – glad you explained what they are – just disgusting. Ugh! and in bed as well. Ugh! ugh!

  10. Bobbejean Warner June 27, 2012 / 12:14 pm

    Hey now, I LOVE fluffernutter! All nutritional value of peanut butter is completely overridden by fluffy marshmallow spread on soft squishy Wonder Bread – food of the GODs I tell you!! At least Ethan and I can appreciate the finer things! I so can’t wait to read your collaboration. I’ve read several of Ethan’s books and love his sense of humor, too.

    Bobbejean

    bobbejean@msn.com

  11. Ro DuBose June 27, 2012 / 12:57 pm

    I will agree that you and Ethan are the best sort of Nutters, not sure about the fluffer part though. LMAO

  12. Barbra June 27, 2012 / 7:29 pm

    I CANNOT wait for the new book!! Sounds fun, and I’m in serious need of a fun book.
    And “fluffernutters” sound awful, but since I’m a sugar-holic and have been told I’d
    probably eat sugar-coated dog poop, I guess I’d be willing to give it a try. 🙂
    Barbra
    aelnova@aol.com

  13. Geoff Knight June 27, 2012 / 7:48 pm

    Oh what a raging fluffy debate, I love it!! Oh and a quick note to Bill, you’re right, the bookstore is wrong, argument settled. You must definitely start with Cross of Sins, then Riddle of the Sands, then Curse of the Dragon God, they go in chronological order. Hope you love them! xx

  14. Ethan Day June 27, 2012 / 8:58 pm

    First off, if I were a Vampire I’d be fucked…and not in the good way…I’ve been known to pass out at the sight of blood. Secondly, Fluffernutters ROCK! I’m astounded that ANYONE who puts something called Vegemite in their mouth would be casting stones at the gooey sweet goodness that it is peanut butter and marshmallow fluff (fyi – its way better on warm toast). ; )

    Finally – the best thing about working with Geoff is that out of all that laid back, disorganized craziness comes pure unadulterated magic. You dream big, baby! : )

  15. scarletty24 June 27, 2012 / 10:34 pm

    haha I agree fluffernutter = WIN! And I think you both are magic 🙂

  16. mantasticfiction July 1, 2012 / 12:27 pm

    Congratulations Aniko! You won a digital copy of Scott Sapphire and the Emerald Orchid. I will be contacting you directly about claiming your prize.

Leave a Reply

