Sing Along with Michael Mandrake


Every author has their own routine when they sit down to start a story. Some start with media, a certain look or sound to help create the characters they are about to write about. Or they outline, the world so vivid in their head that they just have to connect the events. And some authors open their mind and are just as surprised as we are in how the story goes.

Here is author Michael Mandrake to tell us what worked in creating Under the Gun.

Thanks for having me. So, my latest novella, Under the Gun from No Boundaries is an interracial m/m romance about a two men who come from different paths but find out just how much they have in common. Malik Day is a discharged soldier under the now defunct DADT policy while Camdyn Hardy is private investigator who just lost his lover when he decided homosexuality wasn’t for him.

The novel idea came from a sub call I answered and wasn’t successful at getting published. However, that seemed to be a blessing in disguise. I’d get to rewrite this novella and give the characters a much longer story.

Surely, other than Binding Justice, it’s different than my other books. I add a touch of snark from BL, tap into the kink as she would and add some more sensuality as Rawiya; all because my characters ask for it.

Now onto the music. This story is a romance with two very interesting characters, both of headstrong, stubborn, proud, and alpha. I’m choosing some metal in this case since both characters are faced with difficult situations. Some Sevendust and Ministry for the angst, maybe even some Nine Inch Nails. For the calmer and more tension filled moments, Depeche Mode. When the characters finally realize what they have is worth giving it a try, smooth R&B like Sade but there’s one scene in particular where the characters are having sex but, ahem, a little different than you’d expect. For this, I like to pull out NIN again and one song I’m thinking of is the song Sanctified. The tone of the song, seductive with an edge, gives off the feel I’m looking for in this particular part.

I love when a song helps me write a story! Thanks so much for listening.

**Today I’m giving away a copy of my hot new M/M book from No Boundaries to one lucky commenter.

So, to enter a chance to win an e-book copy of Under the Gun, please leave a comment below about a song that inspires you … be it for housecleaning, party time, or to get 2 bullheaded men to see eye to eye.

Open until Thursday, June 21st at 11:59 pm (PST). Winner will be selected and notified on Friday.

3 thoughts on “Sing Along with Michael Mandrake

  1. yganoe June 19, 2012 / 1:51 pm

    I like the song Another One Bites the Dust..it’s a good song to start my run to.
    Yvette
    yratpatrol@aol.com

  2. rawiyaerotica June 19, 2012 / 4:40 pm

    Thanks much for having my gay male pseudo on the site!

  3. mantasticfiction June 22, 2012 / 12:13 pm

    HI Yganoe … you won an e-book copy of Michael Mandrake’s Under the Gun. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

