Jana Down Writes


Nearly everyone has had a plot bunny that they considered/wished to write … even if it was just for a few seconds. For those that actually move forward with their ideas, Jana Downs has some sage advice. Whether you are writing for pleasure, publication, or both … keep writing, surround yourself with honest critics and know your audience.

Hi everyone!

Sitting here, Coke in hand, contemplating the sheer insanity of the past year, I have been called on to write a blog post for all of you lovely people. I’m relatively new to the scene of writing and this year’s GRL will be my first official writing conference. So to honor all the awesome growing pains I’ve been going through lately and for all the potential writers out there, here is my take on the industry.

When beginning this nutty journey, learn your craft. The first story I submitted was awful! Littered with tired metaphors and enough head hopping to induce nausea, my prose was something out of my nightmares as a reader. However, I thought I was brilliant. A frank critique partner and a writing class would’ve gone a long way into improving the piece.

When choosing your topic, no matter if it has been done a million times, make it your own. Add something. And don’t be afraid to take risks. Some of my favorite series were ones that I was told point blank wouldn’t do well and that I shouldn’t bother with. You never know when you might discover something great.

Once you’ve got your story ready: research your publishers. Find which one “fits” you and your writing style/stories. If you submit somewhere that doesn’t fit your stories it will be a waste of time and you most likely won’t be happy with the result even if they do take it.

And finally when you publish a story, rejoice! Love your readers and realize that not everyone is going to love what you write. There is always room for improvement. I don’t write anything that I don’t feel can be better. 🙂

Here is a little info on my upcoming MM Vampire/Regency release for those of you who are interested and I wish you many hours of happy reading!

****

Reluctant Surrender[Alchemy Mates 1] Available Saturday June 23rd.

A former member of a legendary vampire-hunting family, Andren MacGregor is now a vampire under the care of an extremely sexy and absolutely forbidden ancient Roman vampire named Lucian. He’s spent the past seven years fighting the growing attraction for his maker, and the fact that he is no longer human just seems to compound his prickly personality.

When his family steps back into the picture and a killer starts targeting Lucian, Andren has to come to grips with the things he’s been denying about himself. He’ll have to learn to balance being a vampire and being a hunter in order to protect the man he’s growing to love and the family that he’s sworn to protect.

Available from Siren.

Jana Downs is offering up 2 pdf’s – Physical Chemistry and Angel Bound. To enter, comment below with what you would want your pen name to be if you ever wrote a book. First randomly selected poster will win Physical Chemistry. The second randomly selected poster will win Angel Bound.

Open until Friday, June 22 at 11:59 pm (PST). Winners will be chosen and notified on Saturday.

Jana has added her Ravyn’s Warriors 1-5 e-book series to our GRL Reading Challenge Grand Prize. Remember to post your list for your chance to enter.

9 thoughts on “Jana Down Writes

  1. Denise June 19, 2012 / 10:30 pm

    as odd as it may sound, my pen name would probably be Winter Sage.

  2. Bill Gay June 19, 2012 / 11:32 pm

    My pen name would be my real, honest to goodness birth name (well, just using my first initial anyway) – Bee Gay !!! (Bill Gay, Jr.)

  3. CaryLory June 19, 2012 / 11:48 pm

    Your a new author for me—would love the chance to read your books.

  4. yganoe June 20, 2012 / 6:41 am

    I am not sure what I would use but some variation of my name already…maybe Yvetcita…thanks for the chance to win.
    Yvette
    yratpatrol@aol.com

  5. Avalie June 20, 2012 / 12:03 pm

    My pen name would be M. S. Abyss

  6. Barbra June 20, 2012 / 6:09 pm

    That’s a tough one!?!? Never thought about it, since I can barely write a
    sentence. I’d probably try to use my real name, unless it’s already taken. 🙂

    Barbra

  7. mantasticfiction June 22, 2012 / 1:39 pm

    My name is long and awkward to pronounce for most people who haven’t heard me say it so I would have to shorten it to something easier. Which sucks since I love my name. I’d probably use my middle so that it’s still my own name on the cover. Jo Morris

  8. mantasticfiction June 23, 2012 / 10:01 am

    Congratulations Denise (Physical Chemistry) and Bill (Angel Bound). I will be contacting you directly about your ebooks.

  9. Bill Gay June 23, 2012 / 10:31 am

    Tx!! Great way to start off Pride Wkend for me!! Can’t wait to read it!!

Leave a Reply

