Paranormal tendencies with Poppy Dennison


I can’t imagine how nerve wracking it is for debut authors to submit their manuscript for publication. The waiting, the nail-biting, the second guessing, the doubt, and eventually the yes or no that could change everything. But every single Best Selling author has done it. Every fan favorite, multi-series, or cult classic author has done it. Even indie/self published authors do it while they wait for reader reviews.

We are so glad they do. Some of my favorite stories happen to be debut novels, when the authors are still a little wet behind the ears with raw talent.

And I think every writer has a few established authors who have inspired them, and sometimes actively encouraged them, to brave the leap from unpublished to published. When asked about her idols, debut author Poppy Dennison naturally responded with a list of paranormal/shifter greats.

1) Mary Calmes – Change of Heart series
If you haven’t read this series, stop and go read it now. Werepanthers and great world building. These books draw you in and won’t let go. I still think about Jin and Logan. They’re unforgettable!

2) J.L. Langley – With or Without series
These wolf shifters are amazing. The more you read in the series, the more you want to know. I’m chomping at the bit for the next book.

3) Kim Dare – Thrown to the Lions series
Lions! These are a lot of fun and the lions are very liony. (I love making up new words!) Each book is very different in how the lions are presented…they all have their own personalities which makes this series fun to read and exciting to follow.

4) Xara Xanakas – Were Menagerie series
Only the first book is out in this series, but Snakeskin Boots is one of the few paranormal comedies that I’ve ever read. This one made me laugh until I snorted! The second book will be out soon and more are planned. Get in early on this fun series

5) Jourdan Lane – Soul Mates series
Although primarily vampires, there are some sexy shifters in this series. (Xander…rawr!) I read these books back-to-back and couldn’t stop until I’d read them all!

With the raving reviews already available for Mind Magic, I have no doubt that Poppy will be inspiring her own set of aspiring writers very soon.

To win an e-book copy of Mind Magic, please comment on either of the topics below:
1) Your favorite paranormal(s)
– this can be a single author/title or a list.
2) Favorite book (of any genre) by a debut author – this can include authors who have since gone on to publish more stories but you became a fan after reading their first story around the time of publication.
Contest is open until Wednesday, May 2nd, at 11:59 pm (PST). Winner will be randomly selected and notified on Thursday.

Poppy has added a print copy of Mind Magic to our GRL Reading Challenge Grand Prize. Remember to post your list for your chance to enter.





Congratulations Bill Gay! I will be contacting you about claiming your copy of Mind Magic.



11 thoughts on “Paranormal tendencies with Poppy Dennison

  1. mantasticfiction May 1, 2012 / 9:42 pm

    Hi Tabitha … I love Stephani’s stuff but haven’t read the Drone series yet. Its on my tbr list though. And I’ll check out AM Burns … haven’t read him yet. 🙂

  2. Poppy Dennison May 2, 2012 / 1:59 pm

    Oh the Drone Series is awesome, Tabitha! And I haven’t read AM Burns either. Another for my list as well. Thanks for the recs!

  3. jeremypack1973 May 2, 2012 / 2:58 pm

    Not M/M, but I love Kelley Armstrong’s Women of the Underworld series. Lots of really good stuff in there.

    I’m now IN LOVE with Poppy Dennison. I’m halfway through “Mind Magic” and completely spellbound! The high praise she’s getting is RICHLY deserved. Awesome stuff!

  4. Heather May 2, 2012 / 3:53 pm

    My favorite series is Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr. I am a huge IrialxNiall fan. Its a great series, not perfect, but sooooo enjoyable. Like a Bacon man. 😀

  5. Bill Gay May 2, 2012 / 5:27 pm

    K, I’m here for (because of???) Poppy!!! Fave series is fantasy, not m/m (don’t think that was around in the 80’s) – trilogy is Dragon Prince by Melanie Rawn (and subsequent trilogy Dragon Star) – those are books that cannot be put down!! I loved opening each one as they came out and dreaded each time I neared the end. But, I knew that she’d be writing another one, and I’d wait until each came out. First book is Dragon Prince, and it may have come out in the 80’s (as did I!!) – but, they’re still an excellent read and I highly recommend them!! Now, from Rawn to Dennison!!!!!!!

  6. Jennifer May 2, 2012 / 5:41 pm

    I have to say that my favorite shifter series has got to be Deborah Cooke’s Dragonfire series. I love the dragon mythology in that series… and the characters are really fun and interesting. I also love both of Yasmine Galenorn’s series, Sisters of the Moon, and Indigo Court. Both have shifters, but include other kinds of paranormal folk, as well. I’ve been told this book of Poppy’s is really fantastic, so I’m excited to get a shot to win it. Thanks!

  7. Barbra May 2, 2012 / 7:18 pm

    My favorite series is JL Langley’s With & Without.
    Can’t wait for the next one!!

  8. Penumbra May 2, 2012 / 7:38 pm

    So far my favorite debut book is one I just finished reading “Deadly Obsession” by Kristine Cayne. Not the usual type of book I read, but this was very, very good. I plan on reading the rest of the books in the series.

    Thanks for holding this giveaway! 🙂

  9. bookophile81 May 2, 2012 / 7:50 pm

    My favorite paranormal series is the Black Dagger Brotherhood! They are amazing!

  10. mantasticfiction May 3, 2012 / 12:54 pm

    Congratulations Bill Gay! I will be contacting you about claiming your e-book copy of Mind Magic. 🙂

Leave a Reply

