A new side of Ethan Day


So this funny, charming, and crazy man had some ideas and wrote a lot of books. And in them, his characters were just as funny, charming, and crazy as he is. Readers laughed so much they cried. The self-proclaimed “little homo that could” is now one of the brightest names in M/M publishing.

But like all people, Ethan Day is not one thing. He’s not even “just” two or three things. So what happens when an unapologetic, hopelessly romantic comedian, optimist and dreamer gets serious? Well … let’s see.

As I understand it, A Token Of Time had been rolling around in Ethan’s noggin for years, slowly shaping into a darker, grittier, less intentionally funny novel than anything he has released to date. There is mystery and intrigue, heartache, drama, an homage to the “matinee era” of Hollywood, and a paranormal twist that I look forward to discovering. And, of course, a romance, too … because even though he has stretched his creative wings and entrusted us with a soulful story many years in the making, he will always be Ethan.

Blurb:
On the run from his family, Zachary Hamilton was cursed with a gift he neither wanted nor asked for. The recent murder of his lover unleashed a chain of events revealing Zachary’s connection to the recently deceased legendary matinee idol, Marc Castle. Attempting to unravel the mystery behind the movie star, Zachary encountered an ancient relic shrouded in history and folklore, leading to a discovery so shocking it altered his very existence – challenging everything Zachary knew to be true – to believe that the impossible, was possible.

available from MLRpress







In celebrating the release of A Token Of Time, Ethan Day is offering up 1 e-book copy to a very lucky winner. To enter, please comment below with the era you would would most like to visit. Contest is open until Wednesday, April 25th, at 11:59 pm (PST). Winner will be randomly selected and notified on Thursday.

And the winner is Claire! I will be e-mailing you directly.

31 thoughts on “A new side of Ethan Day

  1. Vicktor "Vic" Alexander April 24, 2012 / 3:22 pm

    I am a big history nerd and I’d be torn choosing between the Alexandrian era and the Regency era, both were extremely fascinating eras, although my being black and gay would pose a slight problem during both of those time periods. Just visiting them though I think would be exciting, especially because I can see myself blazing a trail through all of the sexy men that were there. The soldiers of the Alexandrian Era and the male members of the ton from the Regency era. I could so see myself having a lot of fun there.

  2. Bobbejean Warner April 24, 2012 / 3:46 pm

    I’ve got a soft spot for the American ‘Old West’ – I’d love to be a sort of Mae West type character – wise cracking, sassy, hard as nails type lady. In reality, I’m sure I’d have been some sad scullery maid who dies a horrible death, LOL!

  3. Michelle U April 24, 2012 / 4:21 pm

    I am a huge fan of Ethan’s and can’t wait to see this more serious side to his work. The fact that it includes ancient relics, history and folklore is an added bonus!

  4. Dustin Adrian Rhodes April 24, 2012 / 4:25 pm

    I’d have to say the “Old Wild West”… I was born and raised in a part of the country where the Old West was so ingrained in my head, I kinda feel short-changed because I didn’t live in that era. Even today, I wear the snug Wranglers, Tony Llamas and Resistol Straw Cowboy hat. Yee Haw!!!

  5. The Whistling Bus Driver April 24, 2012 / 4:33 pm

    The Roaring Twenties. Hella cool flapper dresses, and fab music.

  6. julielhayes April 24, 2012 / 4:39 pm

    I love history so much, and there are so many wonderful eras I’d like to visit. Do I choose Prohibition or the Civil War? Tudor England or Napoleonic France? Ancient Egypt or Ancient Greece? I think I’ll start with seventeenth century France, in the time of Cardinal Richelieu and hope to meet that amazing man. Not much of a stretch, consdiering who I use for my avatar lol

    Best of luck with your book, Ethan!

  7. Tracy Faul (@tracykitn) April 24, 2012 / 4:46 pm

    I’ve always rather been interested in the Renaissance period — the ideas and the art of the time just dumbfounded me.

  8. Sara York April 24, 2012 / 4:52 pm

    Honestly, I like the here and now. I love air conditioning, cars and the fact that women have some freedom. I would be burned at the stake if I went back to any colonial times because I wouldn’t play nice and be a sweet little woman. if I could be Cleopatra or another woman with power I would go back to that time, but I sure as heck wouldn’t want to deal with their misogynic attitudes. Love reading time travel, just the realities would suck for me.

  9. Linda April 24, 2012 / 4:53 pm

    I LOVE the old west and would love to revisit that time. I’d love to see the native Americans and be able to meet and talk to them too (ala Dancing with Wolves)

    good luck with your book, Ethan. Please enter me for a chance to win

  10. Mary McCarty April 24, 2012 / 5:17 pm

    Hmmm…..there are so many cool times to visit – although I wouldn’t want to live anywhere but here (I’m with Sara – I love my AC!). But to be a flapper would be cool. I also love cowboys & indians so the old west has it’s appeal. Even Regency times – love the corsets & costumes of that time lol

    All I really want to say is, ” Write faster, Ethan!”

    Mary

  11. Midia April 24, 2012 / 5:25 pm

    I’d like to visit ancient Greece. It seems one was interesting to get to know.

  12. Tawny April 24, 2012 / 5:28 pm

    I’d like to visit the Americas and native Americans before the exodus of the white man. I think it would be fascinating to see and experience the cultures before they became influenced by the European influx.

  13. Barbra April 24, 2012 / 5:31 pm

    I wouldn’t want to go too far back-I NEED modern amenities, especially running water.
    Maybe a sorta steampunk old west would be good.

    Barbra

  14. Havan April 24, 2012 / 5:32 pm

    Oooooh I love Ethan books! *big smiles*

    I would love to visit the Regency era – but unfortunately I don’t think I would fit in – I’m not good at holding my tongue…lol

  15. Jennifer April 24, 2012 / 6:21 pm

    Oh… I wouldn’t go too far back. I’d love to have been born in the late 50’s, then grown up in the 60’s & 70’s. Such amazing things going on… such amazing music. It wasn’t all good, but it was interesting!

  16. Claire April 24, 2012 / 6:23 pm

    Yeah, I’m gonna have to agree with Sara as well. The past does sound so romantic and charming, but I think the reality would be mind boggling (the hygiene alone… shudder). I’ll stick to my books for visiting the past.
    I love your writing Ethan. Could you please enter my name for a chance to win your new book.
    Claire

  17. singingsky April 24, 2012 / 6:31 pm

    I would Love to win a copy of this!

  18. Aniko April 24, 2012 / 7:30 pm

    I think I’d prefer reading about the past than actually visiting it. History is fascinating, and I love it, but I think overall the present is a better place to be.

  19. itmfiddler April 24, 2012 / 7:54 pm

    I can’t imagine going back in time. As an independent woman who is a computer scientist and has lived on her own for the past 30 years, I don’t think I would have fit in at all LOL

  20. eeper April 24, 2012 / 8:09 pm

    The 1960s for me. So much change, so much drama, all packed into such a short amount of time!

  21. Lynn April 24, 2012 / 11:14 pm

    I would go back to the 1960’s. The music, the movies, the politics, the Beatles!! 🙂

  22. dsmq April 24, 2012 / 11:29 pm

    I’m so looking forward to reading this other side of Ethan. I’m sure I’ll love it as much as all his other work. I think I’d like to visit the old west and be another Annie Oakly. She didn’t take any crap from anyone and was very independant. Please enter my name in the draw, I’d love to win a copy of A Token Of Time.

  23. L.M. Brown April 25, 2012 / 1:38 am

    I am also looking forward to reading this one and seeing another side to Ethan.

    The era I would most like to visit is probably ancient Egypt. Though Civil War/Restoration England also has its appeal.

    I already have my copy of A Token of Time – finally got it this morning – so please don’t include me in the contest – let somone who does not have it yet have the opportunity to win.

  24. Kelly April 25, 2012 / 8:21 am

    Wow, Love Ethan’s books so I’m really looking forward to this. I think for me it would be the Bronze Age, gotta love Brad Pitt in Troy!

  25. Susie Ritzko April 25, 2012 / 9:37 am

    I think I would love to live in merry olde England. King Arthur, Camelot, huge stone castles, gorgeous knights roaming thru the great halls. Maybe even a dragon or two, (friendly dragons, of course!) Would love to read this new facet of Ethan’s, but hope he continues to write the quirky, snarky characters I love as well!

  26. Rain April 26, 2012 / 4:48 am

    Either I’d jump back a few decades and meet my mother when she was young… or I’d satisfy my curiosity about the times we don’t know so much about and go back 2000 years or so, to see how life was like back then.

  27. mantasticfiction April 26, 2012 / 8:15 am

    Congratulations Claire! I will be e-mailing you about claiming your prize.

  28. akasarahmadison April 26, 2012 / 9:05 am

    Darn it! That’s the problem with keeping lists on digest–I was too late to get here in time for the contest. Missed it by *that* much, she says, pinching her fingers together while speaking in a Maxwell Smart voice. Will definitely put this on my TBR list!

    • mantasticfiction April 26, 2012 / 9:15 am

      haha … sounds like you have my luck. Still have William’s drawing going and a new one for Poppy Dennison’s debut novel starting in the next day or so.

    • akasarahmadison April 26, 2012 / 9:25 am

      Thank you! I will definitely check them out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

