To Be A King with Edmond Manning


Edmond Manning just released his debut novel … you may have heard of it. King Perry is currently rocking a near perfect 5 star rating over on goodreads. Here is the blurb:

In a trendy San Francisco art gallery, out-of-towner Vin Vanbly witnesses an act of compassion that compels him to make investment banker Perry Mangin a mysterious offer: in exchange for a weekend of complete submission, Vin will restore Perry’s “kingship” and transform him into the man he was always meant to be.

Despite intense reservations, Perry agrees, setting in motion a chain of events that will test the limits of his body, seduce his senses, and fray his every nerve, (perhaps occasionally breaking the law) while Vin guides him toward his destiny as ‘the one true king.’

Even as Perry rediscovers old grief and new joys within himself, Vin and his shadowy motivations remain enigmas: who is this off-beat stranger guiding them from danger to hilarity to danger? To emerge triumphant, Perry must overcome the greatest challenge alone: embracing his devastating past. But can he succeed by Sunday’s sunrise deadline? How can he possibly evolve from an ordinary man into King Perry?

Available through Dreamspinner and Amazon.
As of todays date, the King Perry paperback is available from Dreamspinner for 20% off the original price.

One reviewer going by the screenname Enny has this to say …

King Perry is like a golden river that soaks of all the labels, puts candles into the boxes and then carries them away on a journey to a place where this river meets the ocean. I’m fairly sure that this place has dolphins, raspberry pies and little toddlers who play on the beach all day long.

This is easily one of the best books I’ve ever read.

And Mrs Condit Reads Books writes:

This book is not about lust or hook-ups or even art. It is a quest for finding one’s true self, whether that is a painful discovery or a happy revelation, or some of both. Get ready to *feel* more than just read a story.

And if you’ve ever checked out Edmond Manning’s website then you will find he has a very witty sense of humor and a great zest for all facets of life. If you doubt me then just try sending him an e-mail … you can find his contact page here. It definitely took me a few minutes to collect myself before e-mailing him the 1st time. Or you can check out his youtube video entitled Sh*tFirst Time Authors Say.

So now that we’ve all met Edmond Manning properly, here is what he has to say about the driving force behind his breakout novel, King Perry.

Why did you write this Book?

Since my novel, King Perry, came out through Dreamspinner Press, I’ve been interviewed a few times and really enjoyed each experience. But until recently, nobody has asked me the question: why did you write this book?

It’s a tough question for me to answer because while I’ve been writing fiction for a long time, nothing I wrote prior has burst out of my imagination so powerfully as King Perry. A voice from deep inside me said ‘You must finish this. Explore this. Get it out there.’ I needed to write this.

Why?

I wanted readers to experience their kingship or queenship. (I love the word queenship. We don’t use it often enough.) I do believe that we are all amazing, gifted, unique. It’s a notion that’s hardly original: Oprah has been spouting that message for decades as well as self-help and spiritual gurus. But what if it was more than “we are each unique?” What if each of us – every damn one of us – was essential to the success of the world? What if each of us possessed a power so magical, so overwhelming that every single one of us might be considered “the one true queen” or “the one true king?” Impossible, right?

Maybe not.

In the story, readers go on the exact same path as the main character, knowing as little as Perry does, being as bewildered as he is by the narrator’s odd choices throughout the book. Why have breakfast at a homeless shelter? Why steal a baby duck? The readers get answers, but only when the controlling narrator is ready to answer them. And as Perry draws closer to his own kingship, readers draw closer to theirs. I’ve been delighted that several readers, after finishing, have emailed me their King and Queen names. I love it!
Why did I write this book? I think that our world is in trouble right now. To change that, each of us has to step up as the king or queen of our own lives, embrace that royalty in order to save our planet, to save ourselves. It’s not too late. But it requires the power of a queen. The power of a king.

To help my GayRomLit friends explore their kingship or queenship, I’d like to offer three (3) free electronic copies as a giveaway.

Thank you to Mr. Manning for his generous donations to our reading challenge. To enter to win an e-copy of King Perry, please tell us what you would be Queen/King of. It can be anything you enjoy doing or holds any meaning. It can be funny, witty, serious, or insightful.

If you want help to discover a more meaningful Queen/King name, you can follow the advice of Edmond Manning himself in this youtube video titled Discover your king or queen name

Contest is open until 11:59 AM (PST) on Sunday, April 15th..

*** Edmond Manning and Goodreads have teamed up for another contest. (Please note that the selection of winners and distribution of prizes for the goodreads contest is in no way determined by MANtastic Fiction.)

For those of you who would prefer to win a paperback copy, you’re in luck! On goodreads, I’m offering 5 free paperbacks to those who might be interested in participating in their drawing.

To win, follow the Goodreads link and click to enter.

And the winners are:
Bobby D Whitney
brandimroberts
sherbear4c

I will be contacting you directly about claiming your e-book. 🙂

19 thoughts on “To Be A King with Edmond Manning

  1. mantasticfiction April 13, 2012 / 1:15 pm

    Right of the top of my head, I would be Queen of Naps because I really need one 🙂

    Following Edmond’s advice, though, I think a more fitting title would be Queen of Time … I am a photographer and I usually end up documenting everything that happens in my family.

  2. CaryLory April 13, 2012 / 1:17 pm

    I have King as an e-book (kindle) but would rather read it in priint, please!

  3. mantasticfiction April 13, 2012 / 1:26 pm

    Did you enter the Goodreads contest? It looks like it is open until the beginning of May. Haha … I can’t win my own contest but I can jump in on the GR contest so I just entered too.

  4. CaryLory April 13, 2012 / 1:34 pm

    Entered the contest, hope I win!!—- does anyone remember a twincest book commented on by the author around the time paypal was going to stop payment on certain topics and then stopped the boycott?
    Trying to find the twincest book/author? Anyone remember? This site, Mantastic, is not current-entries are from 2010?!

  5. edmondmanning April 13, 2012 / 2:37 pm

    Am I eligible for the contest? Am I? Am I? Oh darn.

    I *love* the Queen of Time. Your ability is to create time out of nothing, to create moments the entire family remembers and honors…what a gift! You give the gift of time, something nobody has enough of and yet all of us are using all the time. I love your Queen name.

    In the past, I debated between several king names for my past. One of my favorite contenders is the King of Dandelions. It fits somehow. I love the common, the ordinary, the things people overlook as weeds. I love small moments in life. I’d rather have heartfelt conversation with grilled veggies in a friend’s backyard than a big party. I like the very ordinary moments of life. They delight me.

  6. sherbear4c April 13, 2012 / 5:24 pm

    I am the Queen of need… everyone needs something from me pulling, pushing and taking. 2 kids, 1 husband, 14 chicken, 2 cat, 1 dog, 3 jobs, 3 nieces, 2 book clubs, 2 sister, always need something from me. I need my two-story house to be clean, laundry done, the garbage out, the carpets vacuum, the kids to the doctors and cat to the vet. Oh, and I need my car not to break down on me etc…etc… etc. However, it always falls onto me that they need me. Somewhere in between, everything, I need to take care of me. I would be the Queen of need.

  7. edmondmanning April 13, 2012 / 5:59 pm

    Does your Queen Name make you feel proud? Do you feel excited by what you give to the world being the Queen of Need? If so, the all hail the Queen of Need!

  8. Jennifer April 14, 2012 / 2:08 am

    I think I wanna be Queen of Scrapbooking. See… if I was the queen, then I would have a reason to insist that I need the space, the time, and the equipment to do it more often, lol 🙂

    • Edmond April 14, 2012 / 3:16 pm

      Go for it, Queen of Scrapbooking! You must chat with the Queen of Time (who commented above) about getting a little extra time for your beloved hobby. 🙂

      Edmond

  9. scarletty24 April 14, 2012 / 10:25 pm

    I want to be queen of america so I can fire all those stupid asshole politicians.

  10. brandimroberts April 14, 2012 / 10:47 pm

    I think I would be Queen of Family: Make it a law that family comes first no matter what! Give those that have crappy families better ones and punish the worst of the worst somehow…. becauase taking their family away wouldn’t be punishment….

    • Edmond April 14, 2012 / 11:15 pm

      My gosh…what beautiful queen names…ways to create more beauty and richness in the world. Even the Queen of American has a plan for getting rid of some (ahem) stupidity. Fantastic! Vin would be very proud. Every queen is essential to the success of the queendom.

  11. Lynn April 14, 2012 / 11:01 pm

    I would be the Queen of Hair! I’m a hairstylist, so in order to be the best that I can be and make everyone look their best, I would need to know everything I need to know in order to achieve that goal! 🙂

  12. Bobby D Whitney April 15, 2012 / 1:40 pm

    I claim the title of Queen of Typographical Errors, but my review partner thinks that Queen of all Commas is more fitting. Meaning: I can find her errors but am completely blind to my own! LOL

  13. mantasticfiction April 16, 2012 / 8:46 am

    And the winners are:
    Bobby D Whitney
    brandimroberts
    sherbear4c

    I will be contacting you directly about claiming your e-book. 🙂

  14. sherbear4c April 16, 2012 / 12:21 pm

    It may be crazy at time, but at the end of the day It is good that I was given the gift to deal and calm the waves. So yes, I need to be needed.

  15. Bobby D Whitney April 16, 2012 / 10:44 pm

    The Queen of Typos is thrilled! Thank you, Edmond.

    *parade waves*

    🙂
    Bobby

  16. sherbear4c April 17, 2012 / 2:48 pm

    Thank you,Edmond. I am also thrilled to get you e-book. The Queen of need really needed this. lol

  17. edmondmanningmpls May 22, 2012 / 8:48 pm

    Hey there! Well, a month passed. Sorry about that. I forget to keep coming back and checking comments. I’m kinda new to visiting and making comments. It’s like, going calling on friends. I’m new to it, so I am sorry I ignored you for a month.

    I’m happy you won! And sorry to those who did not. It’s fun to win things and I hope you enjoy the ride with the gents.

Leave a Reply

