What would you do for a Marie Sexton e-book?


Reading is fun. Reading is adventure. Reading is comfort. Reading is imagination.

And for most of us, reading is a solitary thing … something we do in our own little world. But, it doesn’t have to be. Events like GRL, Skype chats, and local gatherings are turning the M/M readers into quite the social bunch.
So what I want to know is: What is the funniest, kookiest, most outrageous, saddest, silliest, weirdest, bravest thing you have done in the name of reading? It can be anything from dressing up as a literary character for it’s corresponding movie release – to a memorable scene causing you to laugh/cry at an inopportune time – to buying your GRL ticket and/or telling people in your everyday life that you read M/M fiction. Let us enjoy your experiences along with you.

In return, 2 randomly chosen winners will receive an e-book of their choice from Marie Sexton’s backlist. Each name will automatically be entered into the drawing once. Any name that includes photographic evidence (party/bookclub shots, you holding your favorite M/M book, costumes shots … etc) will be automatically entered twice. Just post the link in with your comment.

And please stop by Marie’s website to thank her for writing books we love and for her generous donation for our reading challenge.

Contest is open until Thursday, April 5th at 11:59 PM PST. Winners will be announced and notified on Friday, April 6th.

Marie has also added 2 print books to our GRL Reading Challenge Grand Prize. Remember to post your list for your chance to enter.

And the winners are:

Congratulations Shellie and Trix! I will be contacting you directly about claiming your prize πŸ™‚

15 thoughts on “What would you do for a Marie Sexton e-book?

  1. mantasticfiction April 4, 2012 / 11:54 am

    Could people be nervous to share their stories? How about I start and we see what happens from there?

    When I started reading M/M it was because JR Ward’s BDB series was hinting at a M/M pairing. That was more than 4 years and 6 BDB books ago. Her stories are heavy on the romance and graphic sex, but more than that each book builds on a huge war that gets more and more involved with each installment. To miss even one book in sequence is to miss A LOT of pieces to the overall puzzle.

    And even having gay and lesbian friends, I hadn’t really thought about what a M/M relationship in one of my favorite series would mean … would I love it? Hate it? A few threads on the Ward’s forums spoke of other readers wondering the same thing. A few suggestions were offered up by long-time readers of M/M … the most common being the Special Forces serial by Marquesate. (http://www.marquesate.org/special-forces.html) They did warn about the violent, graphic, and realistic nature of the military so I set those aside for the time being and went in search of something a little less involved, having been updated regularly over years.)

    So what did I decide on for my first M/M story? On March 9th I bought Strongman by Denise Rossetti … followed immediately by Claire Thompson’s Polar Reaction. And then I was off and running. Spending over $300 in the first month alone … $1.49-$4.99 at a time. It was just so easy to click and read that I had no idea how much I spent collectively until I was totaling out my bills at the end of the month. O.o

    But the genie wasn’t going back in the bottle. And I hadn’t told anyone what I was reading.

    Eventually, I began telling people … my sister, my aunt, my dad, a few friends. And during the months that followed I read. Some of my favorites are still some of the earliest I read. Maybe it’s just the memories of discovering the genre, but I still pull up those first reads and smile as I read them for the 20th time. πŸ™‚

    About a year into my reading extravaganza I bought the print copies of Sean Michael’s Jarhead series. I had read the e-book copies and loved them and was ready to revisit them when an amazon gift card landed in my lap. A friend noticed it while at bookclub and asked about it. Anyone who has read Sean Michael knows that there is A LOT of sex in most of his stories. There are tons of romance, suspense, and story as well, but what most people comment on first is the amount of sex. You are either going to love it or hate it.

    And she wanted to give it a try. I suggested she start with something else, but she was insistent that she would be fine. Can you imagine? Now, I love his stories, but reading Sean Michael as your entry into the M/M genre is like jumping into the deep end (at 20 ft deep, no less) of the pool without knowing if you can swim or not. Turns out she could because I don’t think she’s slowed down either.

    And over the years more and more of our “mainstream” bookclub has joined us in our M/M bookclub. We’ve traveled to Miami to Orlando to New Orleans to meet some of our favorite authors and fantastic readers and I don’t think any of us have regretted it for a second.

    What was your first read?

  2. Eugenia Worst April 4, 2012 / 9:29 pm

    Trying to hide from Damon Suede behind a wall at GRL in NOLA because inwas too nervous to meet him!! That man rocked my world!!

  3. Trix April 5, 2012 / 6:12 pm

    I remember wanting to participate in the MS Read-A-Thon when I was 8 years old, a year before I was technically eligible. To do that, I’d need to ask permission from my parents, I was told. So, I remember Sunday night dinner at my grandparents’ house, where I gave my impassioned post-dinner spiel on the subject. I even handed out “yes/no” ballots to all my family members, like the little geek I was. Crazy.

  4. Trix April 5, 2012 / 6:41 pm

    Everyone said yes, except for my older brother (of course). At the time I was furious, but now I think it’s pretty funny.

  5. mantasticfiction April 5, 2012 / 7:34 pm

    You should remind him about it and tell him he could make it up to you now by buying you a book πŸ™‚

  6. Jennifer April 5, 2012 / 8:16 pm

    My introduction into M/M fiction was Dakota Rebel’s TO HATE AND TO HOLD!! Was a perfect fit for me as a newbie πŸ™‚

    I don’t consider most things I do “too much” for any book, lol… I’ve been to midnight release parties… I started a book club… started a blog… I just love them. Not much I wouldn’t do, really, lol πŸ™‚

  7. Shellie (@Lover_of_Books) April 5, 2012 / 8:38 pm

    I’ve bought 3 copies of the same book before πŸ™‚ I’ve been to midnight releases too

  8. Tina (@TinaHolewinski) April 5, 2012 / 11:47 pm

    probably dressed as a character for Halloween(Alice Cullen) OR…. started a tumblr page in honor of a character(Holden Caulfield). Nothing too crazy:)

  9. scarletty24 April 6, 2012 / 12:04 am

    The craziest thing I did was probably walking up to Damon Suede and asking him for a hug and then dragging him over to LYNN.

  10. Stella (Ex Libris) April 6, 2012 / 3:23 am

    I just found out that Gail Carriger will come to a signing in my town in 2 weeks and I am planning on surprising her (though I’m sure she must get this quite a lot) by going to the signing with my lace parasol hopefully she’ll have one too and we can take pictures! I’m sure the public at the Book Festival will be staring as people don’t usually dress up here πŸ™‚

    Other than that the craziest I’ve done (several time) is stay up until 3-4 am reading a book because I couldn’t stop and getting up at 7am to go to work! Was a long day indeed but always worth it! πŸ˜€

    Thank you for the great giveaway! πŸ™‚

  11. Sarah Botting (@pointycat69) April 6, 2012 / 9:10 am

    I think the first m/m fiction I read was Josh Lanyon’s Adrien English series, followed by several of Seam Michael’s Hammer Club books. And now I’m trying not to spend so much given I got sucked in and bought far too many books πŸ™‚
    Have done the staying up far too late reading with work the next day. And missing my bus stop & my tram stop because I was too busy reading.
    Nearly drove my little sister crazy many years back – I was reading one of the Terry Pratchett books and I couldn’t stop laughing – which was extremely annoying to my sister who was trying to do something else. But it didn’t matter how hard I tried, I’d read a bit more and start laughing again πŸ™‚

  12. acm05 April 6, 2012 / 9:57 am

    I’m so boring. I’ve never dressed up as a character or stood in outrageously lines to see a favorite author. Never been in line waiting to get a book at midnight. Nothing.

  13. Jennifer April 6, 2012 / 10:55 am

    That’s ok, ACM05… you still have time, lol πŸ™‚ That can be a goal for 2012 — do something outrageous for a book/author you love πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

