Authors who deserve more press.


Everyone knows the big names. Poll 100 readers about who they have on their auto-buy list and nearly all of them will include the same 10-15 authors. Another 15-20 authors will make it onto 50% of the lists. Those authors have the marketing savvy to match their writing talent.

But what about those who have great stories to tell, but who haven’t been seen the break out success their stories deserve? My favorite example is Helen Gabriel. I loved her stuff. Unfortunately, even with 3 novellas under her belt, I never hear anything about her. Is she even writing anymore? I surely hope so. But I can’t find a website or blog for her anywhere. Did we let a good author slip through the cracks?

My question is: What new/little known authors do you feel deserve more press? Whether you promote them here or on your own website/blogs, please include their name, website, and favorite story.

10 thoughts on “Authors who deserve more press.

  1. Lori Toland November 13, 2010 / 5:09 pm

    Absolutely Mary Calmes. Love her stuff.

  2. mantasticfiction November 13, 2010 / 5:12 pm

    I love her too! The first story I read from her is Timing. It was fabulously funny and romantic.

  3. Alex November 13, 2010 / 7:05 pm

    Tamara Allen. She only has two books, but I think they’re fantastic. But I hardly hear anything, maybe because she’s not prolific or very active?

  4. mantasticfiction November 13, 2010 / 8:37 pm

    Thanks Alex! I had not heard of her before. I just looked up her website and it looks like she has another book coming out soon. There aren’t any dates though.

    Her website is http://www.tamara-allen.net/

    I’m adding her to my list to buy. Should I start with Downtime of Whistling in the Dark?

    • Alex November 13, 2010 / 8:55 pm

      I preferred Whistling in the Dark, but it may only be in print format, so Downtime is the cheaper. Downtime also involves some time travel (FBI agent sent to 1888) while Whistling in the Dark is more about psychological health in 1917 (involving the war, but not happening during the war).

    • mantasticfiction November 13, 2010 / 9:08 pm

      Whistling in the Dark is available at ARe in ebook … just put it on my wishlist. Its $8. I may make it my buy 10 get 1 free purchase. I think I have 3 more to go for this cycle.

  5. amy lane November 13, 2010 / 8:38 pm

    Mary Calmes (of course!) but also Ginn Hale–her stuff is precise, twisted, original and resonant. Love her.

  6. mantasticfiction November 13, 2010 / 8:49 pm

    Ohhh, I like twisted! Just checked out her site and I’m adding the Hell Cop series to my buy list.

    Her Lord Of the White Hell series … is it real-world fantasy or out-there fantasy?

  7. Clare London November 14, 2010 / 10:52 am

    Oooh, I can’t miss that kind of a challenge LOL, what a great topic!

    I’d nominate Chrissy Munder who writes for Dreamspinner, mainly shorts and novellas – fabulously observed slices of life, her characters tug at your heart and she creates the geographical settings very vividly. Mainly contemporary, try her “Fair Winds”. She’s also not afraid of writing men who are older, or with a troublesome past, or weho are far more sophisticated that many of the twinks in m/m fiction.

    Jaime Samms is another writer mainly in the shorts field. Her stories are tremendously evocative, lyrical prose, wondersul sexual and sensual tension between her men. Fantasy and contemporary. A fair dollop of angst! but with characters you can sympathise with, and very often a HEA.

    AM Riley writes some wonderful angsty and edgy books, but with men who are flawed and plausible and dangerous and rotally captivating :). I loved Amor en Retrogrado – it was one of those books you read and suddenly realise how bland most of the other stuff you’re reading really is LOL.

    Anne Brooke’s work is great. She’s British like me which may be one reason why I love it, but her men are also flawed and confused and the sex scenes poignant and vivid. She can write in a range from very dark (A Dangerous Man) to witty (The Hit List) and keep me fascinated all the way.

    Josephine Myles has written some delicious shorts, also Jamie Merrow. Bryl R. Tyne writes very witty, sexy shorts too.
    I also enjoyed Marie Sexton’s recent novels at Dreamspinner, esp, Strawberries for Dessert.
    Thom Lane writes very romantic, beautifully phrased and evocative prose.

    I wish I could remember more…! 🙂

  8. mantasticfiction November 14, 2010 / 11:33 am

    These are some good ones, too! I read Moving Day and Same Difference from Jamie Samms when they came out but haven’t caught up with her in a while. I loved the depth in those. Thanks for reminding me.

    Anne Brooke is a lot of fun. She could tell you to take a long walk off a short pier and have you looking forward to the trip.

    Chrissy Munder is on my TBR list. I have a friend who loves her, too. I’m going to start with Hearts & Flowers. Just put in on my kindle last week.

    AM Riley’s Immotality Is the Suck series was a book of the week selection back when we first started. I loved it, but haven’t made it back to her either. I’m adding your suggestion to my buy list.

    I just added Tough Guy by Bryl R Tyne to my kindle last week, too. Love the cowboys. (Note to authors: If you write a cowboy story I will almost certainly buy it.)

    Jamie Merrow (JL Merrow) – is a new one. I got Pricks and Pragmatism when it first came out, but haven’t read it yet. I had no idea she had so much stuff out. Her website was an eye-opener.

    Marie Sexton … such a wonderful, colorful writer. I’ve read the 1st 3 in that series and am looking forward to Strawberries. I think I like the character of Matt the most. He tries so hard, but there isn’t much hidden with him. He came out, end of story. Everything else is gravy.

    Thom Lane and Josephine Myles are new to me. I’ll have to give them a try on a week my to-buy list isn’t so full. Do you have a favorite from each that I should start with?

    AM Riley – http://www.amriley.net/
    Anne Brooke – http://annebrooke.com/index.html
    Bryl R Tyne – http://bryltyne.com/
    Chrissy Munder – http://www.chrissymunder.com/
    Josephine Myles – http://josephinemyles.com/
    Jamie Merrow – http://www.jlmerrow.com/
    Jamie Samms – http://www.jaime-samms.net/
    Marie Sexton – http://mariesexton.net/
    Thom Lane – http://thom-lane.livejournal.com/

Leave a Reply

