The Forbidden Room Series


1 – The Forbidden Room
When Jayden Carter applied to be Ethan Bryant’s roommate, he never expected his whole life to change. Drawn into a world he knows nothing about, Jayden joins the beautiful and mysterious Lexi as Ethan’s submissive. He then begins a journey of self-discovery that teaches him more than merely BDSM.










2 – A House of Cards: Deconstructing Ethan
Ethan Bryant’s world has been turned upside down by the loss of his submissives. Alone and desperate, his life spins dangerously out of control.

Will a return to Chicago give him the closure he so desperately seeks? What happens when a childhood friend comes back into Ethan’s life, vying for his love. Will Ethan find what he is looking for, or will Jayden’s jealousy tear them all apart and make everything come crashing down?

2 thoughts on “The Forbidden Room Series

  1. Amy June 14, 2010 / 11:49 pm

    WOW i am so glad that Mantastic suggested that i read this series, It was a true expierence. I was a little nervous about the amount of BDSM that was in these books, but I really think that this story wouldnt have been as good as it was if Ethan and Jayden and Lexi hadnt been threw everything they did. It made me laugh it made me cry and most of all it made me want to never stop reading them, The writing was wonderful. Thank you JP for allowing me to take this journey with your characters.

  2. mantasticfiction June 30, 2010 / 10:59 am

    I have so much respect for this book and its sequel that I have had a hard time putting what I think into words.

    On one hand, I had an immediate reaction between “what I would do” versus “what the characters do.” As you’ll see from some of the other reviews, Jayden is given a choice … stay and submit or leave the house. His inner dialogue splits his decision so equally that the only reason we know he will stay is that it would have been a very short book had he decided to leave.

    On the other hand, his experiences are not my own. As readers, we tend to want to escape into the character and I found that I could not. Stepping back to allow the characters to be who they are instead of who I am was critical in my understanding and enjoyment of these novels.

    Decision made, we see Jayden thrown into the BDSM experience in a very abrupt fashion. As explained in the book, each person is different; some needing extra care as they become accustomed to the lifestyle, others needing that immediate cold-dunking, rip-the-band aid-off, full immersion into the community. I think JP Barnaby’s choice for Jayden was a good one. Others may not agree, or may be uncomfortable, but Jayden’s own inner dialogue would have talked him out of anything more subtle. As we see through their shared experiences, Jayden finds himself in ways that he never expected and wouldn’t have known he needed. The addition of Lexi, in the role of confidant and fellow sub, softens the experience and helps guide Jayden through this new life.

    I found the character development to be right on the mark. TFR is told from Jayden’s perspective from start to finish. We know only what he knows, or what/how we as readers interpret the other characters actions. We get many insights into Lexi, her past and present, because of her many conversations with Jayden through his “training.” We know how and why she has chosen this path, how she feels about Ethan, and how she feels about the addition of Jayden because she tells him. We know less about Ethan and his motivations because their relationship outside of the room is not nearly as developed as in it. The reader is able to gain a few insights based on Ethan’s actions and Lexi’s informed opinions, but Ethan is a controlled, reserved and extremely private person and for him to be more forthcoming with his subs would have gone against the core character Barnaby had created.

    One of the main things that I liked about this story is that the characters made mistakes. The storyline didn’t go in a straight line from beginning to end; it took lefts and rights, twists and turns. In one particular instance it stopped completely and had to re-trace its steps. This may un-nerve some readers. I found it essential. Other stories I have read with BDSM themes have been somewhat safe, best-case-scenarios. While they were wonderfully crafted and served as a great introduction to the topic, The Forbidden Room seemed more real. Great trust is needed to enter into a relationship of this nature; communication and clear definitions and limits are important, but that doesn’t mean that misunderstandings and obvious mistakes don’t still happen. The fact that Barnaby allowed the reader to see the raw experience instead of the rose-colored one was a big risk that I believe showed integrity to her work.

    Didn’t stop me from balling like a baby, though, when those mistakes happened.

    In a book titled The Forbidden Room, I am not surprised that the majority of this novel is sexual and takes place in that room. Each encounter brings something new to the story. Some lessons were found in a gentle caress, some in more stark actions. How Jayden reacted to each experience was a big influence on how I responded to reading it.

    The transition of Jayden from clueless to sub to dom spans nearly 2 years. Yet I was happy to see Jayden’s interaction with his family outside the room. I think it was very telling of Jayden’s growth. Without giving away a spoiler, I feel the scenes with his family are as much understandable as they are infuriating. They are also the source of Jayden’s greatest mistake. He knew how important communication is and yet he held his tongue. His insecurities tempted him towards anger and colored not only his opinion, but ours as readers. While I still want to thump a certain sister in the head, Jayden’s ability to admit his fault was crucial in his development.

    The ending was not what I expected. I had gotten a few different glimpses of how it “could” go but was taken by surprise at the actual events. That alone made it a worth while ending, in my opinion.

    Having read the synopsis of book 2 I decided to wait until it was released before I read the first. I am very glad I did. The second picks up right where the first leaves off but we see the next part of the story from Ethan’s perspective. I will add a separate review for book 2 shortly, but I would highly recommend purchasing both so that they are read back to back and the flow is uninterrupted.

    In total, I think The Forbidden Room is a well written exploration of 3 characters who are as diverse as they are similar. There is sex, there is friendship, there is love.

Leave a Reply

