Marguerite Labbe Does the Deed


I don’t know about you, but if I read happy things all the time then I get a little cranky. Really, who is happy all the time? I read to escape, I read for entertainment, and I read for the total immersion and emotion of another world. Be it fantasy, paranormal or contemporary, I want to feel something … even if the story is heartbreaking.

Here is Marguerite Labbe to talk about her upcoming release Ghosts In the Wind and how important it was to write.

I Did the Deed

I’ll freely admit that I’ve killed my share of characters. And not just bad guys who absolutely deserved what they’ve got. I’ve been guilty of killing off friends of characters as well. I tend to write violent worlds where the characters see their fair share of battles. Until now, I’ve never killed a main character before. And I promise, I don’t intend to make it a habit.

I have more ideas than I know what to do with when it comes to stories. However there are a few that I have to write when I get the idea. Ghosts in the Wind was that kind of a story. I honestly didn’t think anyone would take it if I did. And I had no idea what I was going to do with it. I toyed with the idea of finding a good editor and putting it up on my website as a free read. I also toyed with the idea of coming up with a way to bring Dean back to life at the end, but I knew that wasn’t the way the story needed to be told.

The idea brought to life one of the most persistent characters I’ve ever had to deal with. Dean wouldn’t leave me alone. He kept insisting that his story be told all throughout a year of me hemming and hawing, and poking at it here and there. The minute that I heard Dreamspinner Press was doing a Bittersweet Dreams line I knew I’d lost the fight. As soon as Eli and Ash’s story was done, I dove into this new one.

I don’t normally cry when I write, but there were times when I cried with this one, both when I wrote and when I edited it. I fell completely in love with Dean and Andrei, the way they sustained each other, and the way they were both willing to make sacrifices for each other’s well being even though it came at a cost to themselves.

When my brother was about six he loved the movie Top Gun. Every day he would watch it and every day he’d get to the part of Goose’s accident and hope that it would end differently. One day he turned around and said, “That poor Goose, he dies every time.”

When I received my last edits and I was going through Chapter Two where Dean dies I remembered my brother. I think that each time I read it I had the same hope that it would end differently despite knowing better. As I finished that scene I had to pause and comment to my critique group, “Poor Dean, I’ve killed him again.” However, for me, Andrei and Dean’s journey together was worth all the tears in between. I’m very happy that Dean insisted I write it and I believe that these two characters are going to stay with me for a long time and continue to make me smile when I think of them.

Ghosts in the Wind is coming out on Halloween from Dreamspinner Press. And I’ll be giving away an ecopy to a commenter. Please let me know your favorite story that made you both cry and smile.

Marguerite Labbe can be found: WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | GOODREADS | DREAMSPINNER

* * * * *

Available from Dreamspinner October 31, 2012

Andrei Cuza and Dean Marshall celebrated their tenth anniversary only to have their happiness shattered by a random, insane event: On his way home from closing a business deal, Dean stops on the parkway to help a young mother with her flat tire, and her ex arrives, murders them, and takes off with his two kids.

Ghosts have haunted Andrei all his life. He bears the guilt for his sister being stuck in limbo, because ghosts are frozen at the moment they died, unable to adapt to the changes in their living loved ones. When Dean returns to Andrei as a ghost, the double punch of losing him and having to watch him founder if he doesn’t move on is almost more than Andrei can bear.

Despite dangers in limbo—Jackal Wraiths that devour souls are hunting him—Dean isn’t going anywhere until he helps Andrei track down the missing children. Andrei is in danger as well when he pays dearly to feel Dean’s touch one last time. Time is slowly running out as Dean and Andrei try to say good-bye while they track a killer who’s more than happy to kill again.

A Bittersweet Dreams title: It’s an unfortunate truth: love doesn’t always conquer all. Regardless of its strength, sometimes fate intervenes, tragedy strikes, or forces conspire against it. These stories of romance do not offer a traditional happy ending, but the strong and enduring love will still touch your heart and maybe move you to tears.

Marguerite is offering up Ghosts In the Wind. As requested above, comment below on your favorite story that made you smile AND cry.

Open until Monday, October 15th at 11:59 pm (PST). Winner will be selected and notified on Tuesday.

GRL prep has kept me crazy until this very minute … but since it is still officially Tuesday (for another 15 minutes at least) then we are still ok. No camera or paper right now so I used Random.org to select the winner. Congratulations Sue Adams … you won!.

23 thoughts on “Marguerite Labbe Does the Deed

  1. I cry far too easily so almost any story that touches me whether it be cheery or just plain sad will usually result in tears. I still cry at the Google commercial with the college student and her dad.

    Ghosts in the Wind sounds like an amazing book! Good luck with the release.

  2. I’ve loved Vanyel’s story for yeaaaaaars for that precise reason. I still cry at the end of the first book, Magic’s Pawn, and i almost always refuse to finish the third book because i can’t stand the ending. I stop while everything is still happy :D Mercedes Lackey is brilliant at pulling those emotions. But i still reread it the most because i enjoy the story and the journey of the characters, despite the sad bits.
    I’ll be adding Ghosts in the Wind to my TBR pile for sure.

  3. Congrats! I love that cover.

    My ‘cry and smile’ is one that I’ve had for years. Persuasion, by Jane Austen. It ultimately makes me smile, as Anne gets her Captain, but the scene where she has to sit and accompany the dancing, whilst watching Wentworth charm and woo other women, makes me sniffly every time.

  4. The Deed of Paksennarion by Elizabeth Moon…I cry every time.
    I also second the Merceds Lackey Last Herald Mage books…they still get to me.
    chellebee66(at)gmail(dot)com

  5. Goodness, the blurb made me tear up! I cry easily, so the latest book that made me weep was After Ben by Con Riley. I love a good cry, and look forward to reading Ghosts in the Wind.

    brendaurbanist AT gmail DOT com

    1. I love a really good cry too, Brenda. My best friend and I will rent some movies just to hang together with some pumpkin pie and have a good cry. I hope you enjoy “Ghosts in the Wind.”

  6. Oh, the most recent story that made me smile and cry (though, mostly cry) was Silver Lining by Chris T. Kat. Ahh… it was so sad… but strangely beautiful…. I sometimes really love stories like these. lol..

    Thank you for the contest!

    Judi
    arella3173_loveless@yahoo(dot)com

  7. The Beast Within by Edward Kendrick. I absolutely loved it, but I bawled while reading it at points.

    tiger-chick-1(at)hotmail(dot)com

  8. The Age of Innocence by Edith Warton is a book that made me cry in the the three different stages of life that I read it in, as well as one more recently, Acquainted with the Night by Tymber Dalton.

    I’ve been really looking forward to your ghost story for awhile now, Margie, even if one of the MCs has to die! Sometimes real life and good stories do resemble one another, even when mixed with the supernatural!

    Ann Roberts
    Kyreadinggirl@yahoo.com

  9. My favourite laugh and smile book at the moment is Chase in Shadow, by Amy Lane (sometimes called the Queen of Angst). It’s so true that you need sadness to be able to appreciate happiness.
    I’d love to win a copy of your new book; it sounds really good.

    Sue
    corieltauviqueen at yahoo dot co dot uk

Leave a Reply

